Jamie Whincup was quickest in preliminary qualifying for the Bathurst 1000

Reigning V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup has claimed provisional pole position in preliminary qualifying for the Bathurst 1000 endurance event, putting himself in prime position to claim the title of pole position winner for Sunday’s 161-lap race.

Whincup set the overall pace in Friday afternoon’s session, posting a 2:07.7145 lap time in the TeamVodafone Holden Commodore he will share with co-driver Paul Dumbrell.

With the TeamVodafone duo of Jamie Whincup and five-time Bathurst winner Craig Lowndes having set the pace over most of the practice sessions, it was a huge surprise to see Fabian Coulthard post the session’s second-fastest time, missing out on top spot by just under eight-hundredths of a second.

The works-supported Ford Performance Racing duo of Mark Winterbottom and Will Davison were third- and fourth-fastest, while Lowndes completed the top-five.

Also making it through to tomorrow’s Top-10 Shootout were Stone Brothers Racing duo Shane van Gisbergen and Tim Slade, along with Garth Tander, Steve Owen and David Reynolds.

Tander’s performance was particularly impressive. The former champion crashed out at Turn 2 in the session’s opening minutes, triggering a red flag while his car was recovered back to pit lane. His Holden Racing Team pit crew worked miracles to get his car repaired, and he managed to scrape into the Top-10 in a heavily bandaged Commodore.

The grid positions from eleventh down are now locked in, while this session’s ten-quickest drivers will head into a one-lap shootout for pole position late Saturday afternoon.

2012 V8 Supercars Bathurst 1000 – Preliminary Qualifying Result:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup / Paul Dumbrell Holden Triple 8 Racing 2:07.7145
2. Fabian Coulthard / David Besnard Holden Brad Jones Racing + 0.0786
3. Mark Winterbottom / Steven Richards Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.2086
4. Will Davison / John McIntyre Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.2151
5. Craig Lowndes / Warren Luff Holden Triple 8 Racing + 0.2518
6. Shane van Gisbergen / Luke Youlden Ford Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3654
7. Tim Slade / Andrew Thompson Ford Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3767
8. Garth Tander / Nick Percat Holden Holden Racing Team + 0.3900
9. Steve Owen / Paul Morris Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4241
10. David Reynolds / Dean Canto Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.5167
11. Jonathon Webb / Scott McLaughlin Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.5895
12. Jason Bright / Andrew Jones Holden Brad Jones Racing + 0.6426
13. Rick Kelly / David Russell Holden Kelly Racing + 0.6780
14. James Courtney / Cameron McConville Holden Holden Racing Team + 0.7547
15. Lee Holdsworth / Craig Baird Ford Stone Brothers Racing + 0.8234
16. Michael Caruso / Greg Ritter Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.8264
17. James Moffat / Alex Davison Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8704
18. Steven Johnson / Allan Simonsen Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8866
19. Todd Kelly / Tim Blanchard Holden Kelly Racing + 1.1090
20. Michael Patrizi / Jonny Reid Holden Tekno Autosports + 1.1095
21. Dean Fiore / Matt Halliday Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 1.1108
22. David Wall / Chris Pither Holden Brad Jones Racing + 1.1946
23. Greg Murphy / Owen Kelly Holden Kelly Racing + 1.2182
24. Tony D’Alberto / Dale Wood Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing + 1.2196
25. Russell Ingall / Christian Klien Holden Walkinshaw Racing + 1.2677
26. Alexandre Prémat / Jack Perkins Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport + 1.4580
27. Taz Douglas / Scott Pye Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1.5231
28. Karl Reindler / Daniel Gaunt Holden Kelly Racing + 1.6622
29. Cameron Waters / Jesse Dixon Holden Kelly Racing + 2.7720

A double-billing of F1 and V8s at Abu Dhabi!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.