On a hot and sticky day at the Gold Coast, the dynamic duo of Jamie Whincup and Sebastien Bourdais took the top spot on the podium today after an action filled race at the ArmorAll Gold Coast 600.  The TeamVodafone pair were joined by Jonathon Webb and the German Marc Leib for Tekno Autosports and Mark Winterbottom and Will Power for FPR in third.

The race took some time to start though, with the internationals having a little drama getting underway…requiring 2 restarts and a fair while to clean up, the concrete canyon lived up to its name!

James Hinchcliffe was a little slow off the mark for Garry Rogers Motorsport and was subsequently hit by Luizzi’s Irwin Ford which lead to Ricky Taylor’s Fujitsu Holden flip onto it’s head! Simon Pagenaud for Stone Brothers Racing also being involved meant that four cars were out before a single lap had been started. But that wasn’t all…

The restart saw Nicolas Minassian in the Holden Brad Jones Racing stall and Franck Montagny hitting the rear of the car.  Again, the red flags were given some unwanted air time.

The race finally got underway 50 minutes behind schedule, meaning the race was then timed to finish at one lap after 4.15pm, for a total of 79 laps.

The race was fought hard and fast with a number of different leaders throughout the afternoon.  FPR’s Mika Salo was the early leader however once Whincup swapped in, he lead the bright orange from the front for the last 44 laps.  Jamie talked after the race:

“What a crazy start to that race. I thought we’d never get into it and get the race going. We fought on and the Webb car was hooked up and hard to keep at bay.”

Indeed, Webb nipped at Whincup’s heels for about 20 laps, applying pressure to Jamie all the way to the end of the race. 

Only 18 of the 28 starters finished, and there were three different safety car outings.  Mika Salo and Will Davison weren’t able to capitalise on Salo’s early lead after contact with a wall lost them their edge. 

Mark Winterbottom, who came in third and is focusing on his bid for the Championship, praised his co-driver, local Will Power but will be looking to push for a win on Sunday.

“It was a good fight back and a tough race. Will (Power, co-driver), did a great job and I could attack at the end. We were coming but we needed a few more laps so we were just a bit short.”

Full results are below. 

Let the racing continue!

2012 V8 Supercars ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 – Race 1 Results (79 laps*):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup / Sébastien Bourdais Holden Triple 8 Racing 1:45:10.0919
2. Jonathon Webb / Marc Lieb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.4647
3. Mark Winterbottom / Will Power Ford Ford Performance Racing + 1.0893
4. Garth Tander / Ryan Briscoe Holden Holden Racing Team + 12.2211
5. Tim Slade / David Brabham Ford Stone Brothers Racing + 12.9548
6. Craig Lowndes / Richard Lyons Holden Triple 8 Racing + 14.6256
7. James Courtney / Darren Turner Holden Holden Racing Team + 17.1494
8. Rick Kelly / Graham Rahal Holden Kelly Racing + 21.5720
9. Russell Ingall / Peter Dumbreck Holden Walkinshaw Racing + 22.0760
10. Shane van Gisbergen / Jeroen Bleekemolen Ford Stone Brothers Racing + 22.5905
11. Michael Patrizi / Lucas di Grassi Holden Tekno Autosports + 23.7514
12. Jason Bright / Stephane Sarrazin Holden Brad Jones Racing + 23.9662
13. Greg Murphy / Justin Wilson Holden Kelly Racing + 25.1239
14. Taz Douglas / Mike Conway. Holden Dumbrell Motorsport + 25.4685
15. David Wall / Jamie Campbell-Walter Holden Brad Jones Racing + 55.0786
16. Steven Johnson / Max Papis Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 1 lap
17. Dean Fiore / Gianni Morbidelli Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 2 laps
18. Will Davison / Mika Salo Ford Ford Performance Racing + 16 laps
DNF. David Reynolds / Nick Heidfeld Ford Ford Performance Racing 66 laps
DNF. Steve Owen / Boris Said Ford Dick Johnson Racing 40 laps
DNF. Tim Blanchard / Marco Andretti Holden Kelly Racing 19 laps
DNF. James Moffat / Peter Tox Ford Dick Johnson Racing 18 laps
DNS. Lee Holdsworth / Simon Pagenaud Ford Stone Brothers Racing 0 laps
DNS. Tony D’Alberto / Vitantonio Liuzzi Ford Tony D’Alberto Racing 0 laps
DNS. Fabian Coulthard / Nicolas Minassian Holden Brad Jones Racing 0 laps
DNS. Michael Caruso / James Hinchcliffe Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 0 laps
DNS. Karl Reindler / Franck Montagny Holden Kelly Racing 0 laps
DNS. Greg Ritter / Ricky Taylor Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport 0 laps

* Following the two separate startline accidents, the race distance was reduced from its scheduled 102 laps and instead time-limited to a one-hour, 45-minute minute race

A double-billing of F1 and V8s at Abu Dhabi!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Yassmin Abdel-Magied

Two-time Young Australian of the Year finalist, qualified mechanical engineer, social advocate, author and 'petrol head'

Latest posts by Yassmin Abdel-Magied (see all)