Jamie Whincup has made it a clean sweep of wins at Abu Dhabi

Jamie Whincup has moved one step closer to an almost-certain fourth V8 Supercars crown by completing a clean sweep of the series’ visit to Abu Dhabi.

After winning both of yesterday‘s sprint races, Whincup picked up from where he left off with another win in the third and final race of the championship round, held in baking conditions at the Yas Marina Circuit.

It was his eleventh race win of the season, but it didn’t come without a little bit of drama. Getting the better jump off the line from second place on the grid, he moved to cover pole-sitter Will Davison, only for the pair to make contact on the run towards Turn 1.

It was enough for Davison to lose momentum and be challenged by the chasing pack, while Whincup was able to build a quick lead. Davison would be overtaken by Tim Slade, and spent several laps stuck behind the youngster before he was able to get by and mount a fruitless challenge on Whincup’s lead.

The race was temporarily paused when Karl Reindler’s Kelly Racing Holden caught fire after he was hit by Dean Fiore. Reindler had been caught up in a separate accident caused by Jonathon Webb tipping Jason Bright into a spin, leaving the West Australian with nowhere to go when he came upon Bright’s sideways car.

Fiore could do nothing to avoid Reindler’s car, hitting it hard enough up the rear to break the Holden’s fuel cell and spark a fire, forcing a rapid evacuation by Reindler – who had only last year survived a huge startline fireball at Barbagallo Raceway, which left him with burned hands.

Disgracefully, the fire marshals took over a minute before a fire truck arrived on the scene. The incident proved enough to trigger a safety car while the mess was mopped up.

When racing resumed, Whincup again skipped away into an unchallenged lead, while it took until Lap 10 before Davison could find his way past Slade, using a late braking lunge at the final corner to claim second place.

Slade completed the podium positions, keeping Stone Brothers Racing team-mate Shane van Gisbergen at bay in the closing laps, while Mark Winterbottom managed to slip past an impressive James Moffat to finish fifth.

2012 V8 Supercars Yas 400 – Race 3 Result (12 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Laps Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 12 30:36.684
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 12 + 1.132
3. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 12 + 2.906
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 12 + 3.581
5. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 12 + 6.902
6. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 12 + 11.151
7. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 12 + 11.589
8. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing 12 + 12.622
9. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 12 + 13.559
10. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 12 + 14.326
11. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 12 + 14.706
12. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash 12 + 15.058
13. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 12 + 15.779
14. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 12 + 16.436
15. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 12 + 16.704
16. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 12 + 18.110
17. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 12 + 18.464
18. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 12 + 20.806
19. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 12 + 20.999
20. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing 12 + 21.892
21. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports 12 + 25.020
22. Tim Blanchard Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 12 + 25.212
23. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 12 + 26.547
24. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 12 + 27.553
  Not Classified        
DNF. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 6 6 laps
DNF. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 2 2 laps
DNF. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1 1 lap
DNF. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing 1 1 lap

The Qualifying Lap - Australia's ONLY Formula 1 Radio Show!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.