The Chevrolets would quickly charge through the field, but it would end in tears...

Robert Huff will head into the World Touring Car Championship finale armed with a comfortable 23-point championship lead, courtesy of winning this afternoon’s closing race at Shanghai – a result helped by his team-mate and championship rival Yvan Muller copping a penalty for colliding with race leader Alain Menu.

The race started with Tom Coronel and Stefano D’Aste assuming a 1-2 run in their BMWs, while Menu had a great getaway from tenth to be running in third place by the end of the opening lap!

By the end of the second lap of the race, the Chevrolets were sitting in second, third and fourth as the RML squad set about taking its now-customary formation at the front of the field – Menu was leading ahead of Muller and Huff, who had a poor start.

Coronel would surrender his lead to Menu and Muller on the fourth lap, while Huff got by the Dutchman’s BMW on the following lap to make it a Chevrolet 1-2-3 once again.

Having failed to claim any points against his main rivals Menu and Huff in Race 1, Muller was desperate to make up for lost ground and keep his championship hopes alive.

On Lap 8, he went for it, trying a hopelessly late lunge on Menu as they approached Turn 1. It was a move that only succeeded in him punting his team-mate into the run-off, which allowed a delighted Huff into the lead and his fifth win of the 2012 season.

Muller's kamikaze job on Menu would prove costly for both...The move had shuffled Menu down to third behind Muller, but the Frenchman elected to cede the place to try and avoid any action from the FIA Stewards.

However, Menu’s tyres were badly flat-spotted as a result of the contact, and he was unable to keep Muller at bay on the next lap when the Frenchman tried a cleaner passing move at Turn 2.

The Chevrolets crossed the line in that order to complete a subdued podium – Huff excepted, of course – with Menu refusing to speak with Muller, and leaving his trophy on the podium in disgust.

Not surprisingly, Muller was hit with a post-race time penalty by the FIA Stewards, demoting him out of the points and promoting Menu into a consolation second, while Coronel was moved up into third place.

2012 FIA WTCC Race of China – Race 2 Final Classification (13 laps):

Driver Team Result YIT
1. Robert Huff GBR RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet 25:17.714  
2. Alain Menu SUI RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 2.698  
3. Tom Coronel NED ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 4.378  
4. Stefano D’Aste ITA Wiechers-Sport BMW 320TC BMW + 4.866 Y
5. Mehdi Bennani MOR Proteam Racing BMW 320TC BMW + 5.574 Y
6. Gabriele Tarquini ITA Lukoil Racing SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 20.406  
7. Colin Turkington GBR WSR Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 25.189  
8. Tom Boardman GBR Special Tune Racing SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 26.741 Y
9. Alberto Cerqui ITA ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 27.167 Y
10. Tiago Monteiro POR JAS Honda Civic S2000 TC Honda + 27.342  
11. Aleksei Dudukalo RUS Lukoil Racing SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 28.113 Y
12. Darryl O’Young HKG Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 30.937 Y
13. Yvan Muller* FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 31.195  
14. Fredy Barth SUI Swiss Racing SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 32.626 Y
15. Franz Engstler DEU Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 35.170 Y
16. Fernando Monje ESP SUNRED Engineering SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 35.249 Y
17. Alex MacDowell GBR Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 35.368 Y
18. Hugo Valente FRA Tuenti Racing SR León 1.6T Sunred + 41.675 Y
19. Tom Chilton GBR Team Aon Ford Focus S2000 TC Ford + 42.220  
20. Eric Kwong HKG Look Fong Racing Chevrolet Cruze LT Chevrolet + 1:15.910 Y
21. Filipe de Souza MCU China Dragon Chevrolet Lacetti Chevrolet + 1:21.126 Y
22. Kin Veng Ng MCU China Dragon Chevrolet Lacetti Chevrolet + 1:34.329 Y
23. Charles Ka-Ki Ng HKG Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 1 lap Y
24. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengõ Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 1 lap Y
25. Alex Liu Lic Ka MCU Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320si BMW + 2 laps Y
  Not Classified    
NF. Kelvin Leong MCU Song Veng Honda Accord Euro R Honda 7 laps Y
NF. Pepe Oriola ESP Tuenti Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT 6 laps Y
NF. James Nash GBR Team Aon Ford Focus S2000 TC Ford 0 laps  

The Qualifying Lap - Australia's ONLY Formula 1 Radio Show!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.