Jamie Whincup has won his seventh pole position of the 2012 season

Jamie Whincup has moved a step closer to claiming his fourth V8 Supercars Championship title by winning pole position for today’s closing race of the Winton 300.

The TeamVodafone driver narrowly edged out the Ford Performance Racing duo of Will Davison and his main championship rival Mark Winterbottom to claim top spot, with the trio covered by less than five-hundredths of a second on the timesheets.

Fourth-fastest went to Whincup’s team-mate Craig Lowndes, who failed to improve on his earlier flying lap time after being badly baulked by Shane van Gisbergen on his next flying lap.

The veteran lines up ahead of Jonathon Webb, who showed a remarkable turnaround from yesterday’s qualifying session to claim his sixth top-five starting position of the year in his Tekno Holden. He starts ahead of Jason Bright, David Reynolds, Michael Caruso, Fabian Coulthard and Lee Holdsworth.

Van Gisbergen finished eleventh-quickest, costing himself valuable track time for his blocking of Lowndes when the stewards hit him with a one-minute pit-lane holding penalty for is troubles.

He lines up one spot ahead of David Wall, who delivered by far his best qualifying performance of his V8 Supercars career with the twelfth-fastest time in his Brad Jones-run Holden.

Fellow V8 rookie Alexandre Premat also had a promising qualifying session, with the former DTM racer qualifying 14th-quickest.

2012 V8 Supercars Winton 300 – Race 2 Qualifying:

Driver Entry / Team Qualifying Time
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:22.7970
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0259
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.0506
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.2258
5. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.2529
6. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.2982
7. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.3159
8. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.3666
9. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3670
10. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3875
11. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.4189
12. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 0.4956
13. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.5058
14. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.5185
15. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.5713
16. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.5808
17. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.6743
18. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.7154
19. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.7273
20. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.7514
21. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.7606
22. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.7879
23. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing + 0.8309
24. Tim Blanchard Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.8596
25. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.8629
26. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.8849
27. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 0.8884
28. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 1.0230

Buy your 'Jenson Pushes My Button' T-Shirt right here!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.