Jami Whincup has provisionally claimed a fourth career V8 Supercars title

Jamie Whincup has recovered from a drive-through penalty to finish third to team-mate Craig Lowndes in the feature race of the Winton 300 round, a result that proved enough to provisionally award him a fourth V8 Supercars Championship title.

The TeamVodafone driver led the 200-kilometre race from pole position, but his joy would prove short-lived after second-placed Will Davison snuck ahead at Turn 10 on the opening lap.

That left Whincup in second place, one spot ahead of his sole championship rival, Mark Winterbottom, who needed to finish well ahead of him if he was to have hope of taking the championship fight to the final round of the season at Sydney Olympic Park.

The top-three ran in good order until the first round of pit stops, but it all threatened to come undone for Whincup after his rear wheels were spotted spinning as he prepared to be lowered from his jacks.

Putting the car in gear too early during a pit stop is a big ‘no-no’ in the V8 Supercars rulebook, and accordingly, Whincup was hauled in for a drive-through penalty that dropped him to 22nd position.

Incredibly, he clawed his way back into contention and on the podium, despite the absence of any further safety car periods over the remainder of the race.

Perhaps his pace inspired team-mate Craig Lowndes – who was promoted to third place after Whincup’s penalty – for the series veteran staged his own late-race charge to get by Winterbottom and Whincup to claim victory for the sixth time this season.

Former leader Davison faded badly as the race wore on, struggling with a lack of grip to finish outside the top-ten.

Winterbottom soldiered on to claim yet another podium finish, but with Whincup in third place, his hopes of keeping his championship challenge alive would rest on his rival failing to score a single point in the finale and copping a significant penalty points hit.

2012 V8 Supercars Winton 300 – Race 2 Final Classification (67 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing 1:38:39.486
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 5.812
3. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 8.652
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 15.836
5. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 17.050
6. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 17.417
7. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 19.916
8. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 22.531
9. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing + 25.010
10. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 28.271
11. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 30.027
12. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 32.940
13. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 34.119
14. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 44.690
15. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 45.177
16. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 45.471
17. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 45.595
18. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 51.792
19. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing +59.770
20. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 1:00.370
21. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 1:08.375
22. Tim Blanchard Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 1:17.857
23. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 1:23.520
24. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1:24.085
25. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 1:24.133
26. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 1 lap behind
27. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1 lap behind
28. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 1 lap behind

Buy NOW from the RichardsF1.com Store!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.