Will Davison has won the final V8 Supercars race of the 2012 season

Will Davison has won the last ever ‘Holden-versus-Ford’ V8 Supercars race, putting together a dominant run to victory around the streets of Sydney Olympic Park.

Key to the Ford Performance Racing driver’s success was a brave overtaking move on pole-sitter Garth Tander early on in the 74-lap race, and from that point he ran untroubled to the chequered flag.

Tander and team-mate James Courtney looked on course to deliver the Holden Racing Team its best finish of the 2012 season with a double-podium finish. The pair switched positions after the first round of pit stops, but Tander’s hopes came undone when he suffered a puncture which relegated him to a 16th-placed finish.

Courtney would hold onto second place for a while, only to be overhauled by Craig Lowndes, who leapfrogged ahead of the 2010 champion in the final sequence of pit stops.

Thereafter, he staged a brave fight trying to chase down Davison, but the Ford Performance Racing driver had enough in hand to claim his eighth win of the year, ensuring that FPR and TeamVodafone remained the season’s only race-winning teams in 2012.

Lowndes’ result ensured him of second place in the championship standings behind team-mate Jamie Whincup, who fought through from his 24th-placed starting position to finish in fifth place behind Tim Slade.

Lowndes’ only championship rival, Mark Winterbottom, had a disastrous finish to the best season of his career. He was taken out at Turn 1 by James Moffat, and then suffered a mid-race puncture, before he had to serve a pit-lane penalty. He finished a lowly 18th.

After the carnage in yesterday’s boiling conditions, today’s race featured fewer Safety Car interventions and incident.

The race’s two full-course caution periods came early on. The first was triggered by the departing Shane van Gisbergen, who had an insipid final outing in the championship, once again failing to complete a race lap when he retired on the opening lap.

Moments later, the safety car was out again when Greg Murphy and Michael Patrizi collided, leaving the former with race-ending damage in his final outing for the Kelly Racing stable.

The race also saw newly-crowned V8 Development Series champion Scott McLaughlin make a last-minute debut in the main championship. The youngster stood in for the unwell Alexandre Premat in the #33 GRM Holden Commodore after the Frenchman was hospitalised during yesterday’s race with dehydration. McLaughlin drove steadily to finish in 17th place, a lap down on winner Davison.

2012 V8 Supercars Sydney Telstra 500 – Race 1 Final Classification (74 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing 1:57:50.5999
2. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 2.5831
3. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 4.5880
4. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 8.1940
5. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 24.5296
6. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 28.2182
7. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 37.7028
8. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 46.2653
9. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 47.7089
10. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 48.6611
11. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 50.0499
12. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 51.4782
13. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 55.7044
14. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 56.3773
15. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 2:07.7787
16. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1 lap behind
17. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 1 lap behind
18. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1 lap behind
19. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports 1 lap behind
20. Tim Blanchard Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 2 laps behind
21. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 5 laps behind
22. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing 5 laps behind
  Not Classified      
DNF. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 72 laps
DNF. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing 34 laps
DNF. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 29 laps
DNF. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing 14 laps
DNF. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing 5 laps
DNF. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing 0 laps

Buy NOW from the RichardsF1.com Store!

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.