Garth Tander has won pole position for the curtain-closing race of the 2012 V8 Supercars season

Garth Tander has claimed pole position for the final V8 Supercars Championship race of 2012 at Sydney Olympic Park, edging out Will Davison in a session that was interrupted by several red flags.

The Holden Racing Team driver took top spot by 0.12 seconds with less than fifteen seconds of the twenty-minute qualifying session remaining, leaving Davison unable to retake the position when he made a mistake on his final flying lap.

In what was a great day for the Holden Racing Team, Tander’s team-mate James Courtney qualified third-fastest, backing up his podium-winning result in yesterday’s opening race.

The 2009 champion starts alongside Jonathon Webb on Row 2, with Craig Lowndes and Mark Winterbottom set to resume their battle for runners-up position in the championship today from the third row of the grid.

The top ten was completed by James Moffat, Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard and Steve Owen.

The session saw no less than three red flag interruptions, with Russell Ingall (electrical) and Karl Reindler (engine failure) both forced to stop their cars during the session.

Champion elect Jamie Whincup had his worst qualifying result of the season after he triggered the session’s third red flag after a spin at Turn 7, which saw him dislodge the tyre barriers positioned on the corner’s apex.

Under the championship rules, Whincup was forbidden to take any further part in the session and was stripped of his fastest lap time of the session – a result that relegated him to a disastrous 24th on the grid.

GRM Holden import Alexandre Premat sat out the session as he continues to recover from the severe dehydration he suffered in yesterday’s gruelling race. The team and officials will decide whether he will be able to compete at all in the coming hours.

The final race of the championship kicks off at 3:05pm local time.

2012 V8 Supercars Sydney Telstra 500 – Race 2 Qualifying:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team 1:27.6295
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1197
3. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.2000
4. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.3401
5. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 0.3666
6. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 0.4866
7. James Moffat Ford Team Norton / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4988
8. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.5500
9. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.6720
10. Steve Owen Ford VIP Petfoods / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6799
11. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.6866
12. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.7016
13. Michael Patrizi Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.7246
14. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.7367
15. David Reynolds Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.7783
16. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.8330
17. Lee Holdsworth Ford Irwin Racing / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.8393
18. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 0.8838
19. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.9739
20. Tony D’Alberto Ford HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 1.1643
21. Taz Douglas Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1.3583
22. Dean Fiore Ford Jim Beam Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 1.3668
23. David Wall Holden Wilson Security / Brad Jones Racing + 1.5198
24. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Racing + 1.7949
25. Tim Blanchard Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 1.8285
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Kelly Racing + 1.9327
27. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Walkinshaw Racing no time
DNQ. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport no time

Shop exclusively at the Store

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.