1980 F1 World Champion Alan Jones will join Network Ten's commentary line-up

Australia’s last Formula 1 World Champion, Alan Jones, has been announced as the new co-host of Australia’s Formula 1 TV broadcasting on Network Ten. He replaces Craig Baird in the panel that also comprises Greg Rust and Daryl Beattie.

The reshuffle in Ten’s broadcasting ranks was triggered by Baird – a hugely successful sports car racer – who opted to spend more time behind the wheel in 2013 as he juggles commitments in five different racing championships.

As one of only two Australians to have their names etched on the Formula 1 Drivers’ Championship trophy, Jones will offer his no-nonsense opinions to Australia’s millions of Formula 1 fans when the broadcasts go to air each Grand Prix weekend.

It will be second time that ‘Jonesy’ has graced Australia’s TV screens in this capacity, having previously hosted the Nine Network’s Grand Prix coverage from the early 1980s until 2002, with much of it spent alongside Darryl Eastlake.

The 66-year-old is thrilled with the chance to return to the small screen.

Jones will return to the commentary booth with Network Ten“Motor racing has been my passion and love all my life, [and] to be given the opportunity with Ten to talk about it and share that passion with other people is something that I’m really looking forward to,” he said.

“We are delighted that Alan is joining the Formula 1 commentary team in 2013,” added Network Ten’s head of sport, David Barham.

“He brings strong opinion, great knowledge, experience and profile to the home of premium motorsport. It is a real coup for viewers and fans.”

Jones will make his full-time Network Ten debut at the Australian Grand Prix next month.

You can read our exclusive interviews with Alan Jones and Greg Rust by clicking on the respective links below:

image Greg Rust

CLICK HERE to buy your tickets for the 2013 Australian Grand Prix

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.