Kimi Raikkonen was quickest in the second practice session at the Malaysian Formula 1 Grand Prix

Kimi Räikkönen continued his strong form in Malaysia by topping the second practice session that saw mixed conditions.

After finishing second-fastest in the first practice in the morning, the Australian Grand Prix winner clocked a time of 1.36.569 on the medium tyres, which finally got their first running for the weekend. The time was set in the first hour as a brief rain shower caused teams to scurry back to their garages before getting in some useful intermediate running as more rain is predicted over the weekend.

Sebastian Vettel showed Red Bull Racing as one of the teams to beat by finishing in second just behind Räikkönen. Vettel’s time was good enough to edge out both Ferraris, with Felipe Massa impressively pipping his team-mate by three-tenths of a second, and he looks to be in strong form at the start of the season.

Mark Webber was fifth in the sister RB9 ahead of Lotus’ Romain Grosjean and Nico Rosberg for Mercedes. Rosberg’s team-mate Lewis Hamilton again wasn’t able to match his time, but was only one-tenth away from the German.

Paul di Resta was eighth-fastest while his fellow Force India driver Adrian Sutil rounded out the top ten, but only managed to complete ten laps and was forced to sit out most of the session as a precaution with an oil seal failure.

It was yet another mixed session for McLaren, with Sergio Pérez beating Jenson Button for the first time in a practice session with the eleventh-fastest time. Button was one spot back and actually the fastest runner on medium tyres when the track was wet, but his eventual best time of 1.37.865 was over a second off the pace.

Nico Hülkenberg survived a spin as he entered the pits when the track became wet; he finished in thirteenth place, ahead of his team-mate Esteban Gutiérrez who also had an issue with his fire extinguisher going off in his car during the session as well as a broken exhaust. Jean-Eric Vergne was fifteenth-fastest for Toro Rosso as they continue to struggle for pace, Daniel Ricciardo in seventeenth only adds to their woes.

The woes also continue at Williams, with Pastor Maldonado setting the sixteenth-fastest time while Valtteri Bottas in nineteenth was slower than the impressive Marussia rookie Jules Bianchi.

Caterham duo Charles Pic and Giedo van der Garde both suffered off track moments during the rain and ended the session separated by only one hundredth of a second neat the bottom of the timesheets. Max Chilton once again rounded up the field in last place, close to five seconds off the pace.

With drivers getting a taste of a wet Sepang ahead of more predicted wet weather this weekend, it’ll be interesting to see who can come out on top as we head into qualifying tomorrow.

2013 Malaysian Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Kimi Räikkönen FIN Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:36.569 28
2. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:36.588 + 0.019 27
3. Felipe Massa BRA Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:36.661 + 0.092 33
4. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:36.985 + 0.416 23
5. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:37.026 + 0.457 29
6. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:37.206 + 0.637 26
7. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:37.448 + 0.879 32
8. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:37.571 + 1.002 30
9. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:37.574 + 1.005 32
10. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:37.788 + 1.219 10
11. Sergio Pérez MEX McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:37.838 + 1.269 21
12. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:37.865 + 1.296 29
13. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Sauber Ferrari C32 1:38.068 + 1.499 31
14. Esteban Gutiérrez MEX Sauber Ferrari C32 1:38.645 + 2.076 23
15. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:38.738 + 2.169 31
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Renault FW35 1:38.801 + 2.232 27
17. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:38.904 + 2.335 31
18. Jules Bianchi FRA Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:39.508 + 2.939 30
19. Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Renault FW35 1:39.660 + 3.091 28
20. Charles Pic FRA Caterham Renault CT03 1:40.757 + 4.188 29
21. Giedo van der Garde NED Caterham Renault CT03 1:40.768 + 4.199 32
22. Max Chilton GBR Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:41.438 + 4.869 33
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.