Will Davison has claimed Ford's first win in ten years at Pukekohe Raceway

Will Davison broke nine years of Holden domination at Pukekohe Raceway by taking the top podium spot in Race 8 at the ITM 400 Auckland. 

The Pepsi Max Crew Ford Performance Racing’s driver came from fifth place on the starting grid to sail through and take the top spot. It is the first time a Ford has won at Pukekohe since Marcus Ambrose in 2004 claimed the marque’s sole race win at a circuit where Holden has enjoyed almost total domination.

The win also pushed Davison into top spot in the Championship points, pushing rival Jamie Whincup who started on pole, into second. 

“[The win] feels really good,” Davison said after the race.

“We’re trying to get our heads around this car, trying to win every race – we haven’t really been in a position to do that, but I’ve been up there in the championship – so this definitely feels great quite early in the year.

“It’s a special atmosphere here in Pukekohe to get a win.

“It’s probably not expected, coming from fifth on the grid, but I had a lot of fun, it was a great race. There were a couple of errors by the guys in front, but I had to really race for it at the end there.

“It’s probably the most competitive I’ve been all year, so to get a race win is very special for everyone involved. We also had great car speed, so that’s important [for future races].”

Davison was followed home by Shane van Gisbergen, Fabian Coulthard, Craig Lowndes, Garth Tander, Jason Bright, David Reynolds, Jonathon Webb, Alex Davison and rounded off by Rick Kelly as the best-placed Nissan runner.

The safety car came out a number of times  (four in total) during the race; early in the race due to Tony D’Alberto coming off the track and spreading debris on the track, followed contact on Lap 13 between James Courtney and van Gisbergen. Scott McLaughlin ploughed into a wall towards the end of the race.  The race was stopped after time restriction after only 32 laps. 

Scott McLaughlin had a heavy impact with the wall Front-row starters Whincup and Winterbottom conspired to collide once again!

The safety car was also brought out after contact between Whincup and Mark Winterbottom – FPR Team Principal Tim Edwards called it “karma” following the pair’s collision in Saturday’s closing race. The duo ended up finishing 24th and 23rd respectively. It made it a bittersweet win for the FPR crew as Winterbottom had led well at the beginning of the race.

2013 V8 Supercars ITM 400 Auckland – Race 3 Final Classification (32 laps*):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing 44:42.6510
2. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 0.6028
3. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.8140
4. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 1.0343
5. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 1.3570
6. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 2.0625
7. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 2.2681
8. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 2.5003
9. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 2.8014
10. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 3.6912
11. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 3.8558
12. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 4.3320
13. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 4.5793
14. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 5.5825
15. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 5.8641
16. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 6.4310
17. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 7.0717
18. Jonny Reid Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 7.1724
19. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 7.7188
20. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 8.4545
21. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 8.8143
22. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 2 laps
23. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 2 laps
24. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 2 laps
Not Classified    
DNF. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport 27 laps
DNF. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 14 laps
DNF. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 0 laps

* Race distance time-limited to 32 of its scheduled 35-lap distance

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.