Tom Coronel romped to victory in the second WTCC race at the Slovakia Ring

After Gabriele Tarquini claimed a lights-to-flag victory in today’s opening World Touring Car Championship race at the Slovakia Ring, this time it was the turn of Tom Coronel, who broke through to claim BMW’s first win of the 2013 season.

Starting from the reverse-grid pole position, the Dutchman blasted off the line and was never challenged en route to an emotional win for the ROAL Motorsport team.

Behind him, however, it was action aplenty.

The drama started as soon as the lights went out, with Michel Nykjær stalling his NIKA Chevrolet and somehow managing to avoid being collected by the accelerating cars behind.

While Coronel stoked his way to victory, the main focus of the huge crowd was a ferocious battle for second place. The SEATs of Pepe Oriola and Rob Huff each tooks turns in second place, until mistakes from both proved enough to promote Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini into the podium positions, ensuring three different manufacturers occupied the top-three positions in Race 2.

Huff managed to defend fourth place from the Honda of Tiago Monteiro, while Oriola did likewise against Tom Chilton to finish in sixth place. The top-ten was completed by Alex MacDowall, Mehdi Bennani and Coronel’s teammate Darryl O’Young, whose BMW had miraculously been rebuilt after an all-night repair job on his battered car, which sustained enormous damage in his qualifying accident on Saturday.

The battle for championship honours still sees Muller out in front, albeit on a reduced points margin to new second-placed runner, Tarquini, who lies 24 points behind the Frenchman.

The field now has a tight turnaround to repair and prepare the cars for the fourth leg of the 2013 season, which takes place next weekend at the Hungaroring.

2013 FIA WTCC Race of Slovakia – Race 2 Final Classification (10 laps):

Driver Team Result YIT
1. Tom Coronel NED ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW 22:26.224
2. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 2.990  
3. Gabriele Tarquini ITA Castrol Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 3.345  
4. Robert Huff GBR Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 4.954  
5. Tiago Monteiro POR Castrol Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 5.222
6. Pepe Oriola ESP Tuenti Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 11.365 Y
7. Tim Chilton GBR RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 11.625  
8. Alex MacDowall GBR Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 11.816 Y
9. Mehdi Bennani MOR Scuderia Proteam BMW 320TC BMW + 12.265 Y
10. Darryl O’Young HKG ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 12.498 Y
11. Stefano D’Aste ITA PB Sport BMW 320TC BMW + 12.827 Y
12. Michel Nykjær DEN NIKA Racing Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 13.678 Y
13. Fredy Barth SUI Wiechers-Sport BMW 320TC BMW + 14.651 Y
14. James Thompson GBR LADA Sport Granta LADA + 18.518  
15. Marc Basseng DEU Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 19.887  
16. Fernando Monje ESP Campos Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 20.246 Y
17. James Nash GBR Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 22.418 Y
18. Tom Boardman GBR Special Tune Racing SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 31.643 Y
19. René Münnich DEU Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 32.076 Y
20. Mikhail Kozlowskiy RUS LADA Sport Granta LADA + 35.472
21. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengõ Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 54.663
  Not Classified Result  
DNF. Charles Ka-Ki Ng HKG Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW 4 laps Y
DNF. Franz Engstler DEU Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW 2 laps Y

“Y” denotes Yokohama Independent Trophy competitor.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.