Craig Lowndes became the most successful driver in ATCC/V8SC history, breaking Mark Skaife's record of 90 race wins today

91 race victories. Take a moment to stop and think about the magnitude of that record.

Craig Lowndes has made history this weekend, recording his 91st win in a V8 Supercar, beating Mark Skaife’s previous record by taking the top podium spot at Barbagallo Raceway this weekend.

Mark came down from his TV commentary position to personally congratulate the three-time series champion. Craig was naturally, ecstatic.

Lowndes is congratulated by former record-holder Mark Skaife“I remember when Mark won at Eastern Creek and thinking how special it was and how great his career was. For him to achieve that figure was quite special.

“I knew I was getting close to it last year and equalling it in Adelaide, and now beating it here is fantastic. It is a great feeling.”

In the form of today’s 60/60 Super Sprint, Lowndes overtook his teammate early on in the second half of the race and took out Triple Eight’s 100th win.  Jamie Whincup came in second with Ford’s Mark Winterbottom wrapping up the podium, and the top three were followed by Jason Bright, Alex Davison, Alexandre Premat, David Reynolds, James Courtney, Shane Van Gisbergen and James Moffat.  Moffat’s top-ten finish was a big achievement for Nissan, and shows their progress in development through the series.

After working his way into second place in the opening leg of the 60/60 SuperSprint, Lowndes took the lead from teammate Whincup in the second leg and never looked back

This Saturday’s race wasn’t just full of record-breaking drama however, with Scott Pye’s second smash for the season, flying off the track in the first half of the race.  Pye’s EKOL Racing Holden Commodore almost barrel rolled after he got a nudge from Rick Kelly and then Tander on the last corner of the long-cornered circuit.   Pye’s wheels left the ground and was airborne for 20 meters… but he isn’t quite sure what happened.

“I still don’t really know yet,” Pye said.

“It’s one of those things. It was the last lap (of the first half) and I was covering to defend. There must’ve been an overlap and Rick Kelly – or Todd, I’m not sure – got into the back of the car and turned me sideways and got into the door.

“Garth – when he hit me it was a full surprise. I didn’t realise he was on the inside, I couldn’t see that. And after that we were just very lucky the car didn’t go over. When I was flying through the air I had thoughts of Fabian Coulthard’s crash at Bathurst that year and I thought that was going to happen.

“I knew it was going for quite a while and the worst thing was, I knew I was sideways. Usually when it’s sideways it’s not the bet result.”

The pit crew must be getting used to Pye’s antics though, because his car was repaired in amazing time ahead of the second race leg!

Whincup is now points leader, followed by Davison, Lowndes, Bright and Van Gisbergen.

2013 V8 Supercars Chill Perth 360 – Race 1 Final Classification (50 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering 1:13:05.0887
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 1.8565
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 1.9739
4. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 4.8843
5. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 8.9067
6. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 11.2999
7. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 13.3254
8. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 13.3758
9. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 13.4396
10. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 13.9191
11. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 14.0789
12. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 16.4860
13. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 17.2427
14. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 21.8286
15. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 22.0863
16. Jonathon Webb Holden Tekno Autosports + 22.4105
17. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 22.7235
18. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 23.6083
19. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 27.1539
20. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 27.5420
21. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 29.5292
22. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 29.6989
23. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 29.8891
24. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 31.2497
25. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 31.5499
26. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport 1 lap behind
27. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing 1 lap behind
28. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 1 lap behind

Meanwhile Casey Stoner, racing for the third time in the V8 Supercars Development series, struggled on four wheels and came in at 21st.  It seems it is taking the former MotoGP Champion a little more time to get used to the different racing style.

“To be honest I wanted to have fun at the front of the pack,” said Stoner, who did actually clock the eighth fastest lap in the race.

“I was a little bit disappointed in a couple of the drivers that were blocking a little bit too much… and it made it impossible to overtake.”

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.