Sebastian Vettel has moved to the top of the timesheets at the end of the second practice session for the Spanish Grand Prix.

With weather conditions remaining dry after a wet opening exchange, the German narrowly edged out this morning’s pace-setter, Fernando Alonso, by a scant 0.017 seconds. Vettel teammate Mark Webber was third-fastest.

The drier weather encouraged all of the field to head onto the circuit to make up for the morning’s tricker conditions, and with everyone bringing substantial upgrades to their cars, fans were given plenty of chances to view their favourite drivers up close on the Circuit de Catalunya.

The early part of the session was spent evaluating the prototype compound and Pirelli Hard tyres, before a late switch to Medium tyres saw the session come alive. Vettel ultimately managed to find a traffic-free lap to move into top spot.

Alonso’s hopes of reclaiming top spot were thwarted by Esteban Gutiérrez, who momentarily held up the Spaniard on the approach to the Campsa corner. That was just enough to ensure Vettel kept top spot, while Webber was right behind in third spot.

Kimi Räikkönen and Felipe Massa completed the top five, ahead of Lewis Hamilton, who suffered a low-speed spin at Turn 12 early in the session. His Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg – who was the early pacesetter on the Hard compound tyres – was seventh-quickest.

imageFellow German Adrian Sutil was eighth-quickest in the Force India ahead of Jean-Éric Vergne, who slipped down the order after his top-three heroics in the day’s earlier practice session.

Sutil’s teammate Paul di Resta was tenth-fastest, although his running was curtailed by a left-rear tyre failure, with the Pirelli rubber disintegrating in an explosion of debris along the main straight.

The heavily-updated McLarens once again kept a quiet profile, with Jenson Button and Sergio Pérez winding up 12th and 13th respectively at the end of the session.

2013 Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:22.808   34
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:22.825 + 0.017 35
3. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:22.891 + 0.083 36
4. Kimi Räikkönen FIN Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:23.030 + 0.222 32
5. Felipe Massa BRA Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:23.110 + 0.302 37
6. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:23.140 + 0.332 35
7. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:23.398 + 0.590 45
8. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:23.804 + 1.032 37
9. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:24.058 + 1.250 31
10. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:24.104 + 1.296 25
11. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:24.175 + 1.367 32
12. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:24.306 + 1.498 35
13. Sergio Pérez MEX McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:24.854 + 2.046 31
14. Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Renault FW35 1:24.888 + 2.080 38
15. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Sauber Ferrari C32 1:25.167 + 2.359 38
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Renault FW35 1:25.321 + 2.513 32
17. Esteban Gutiérrez MEX Sauber Ferrari C32 1:25.441 + 2.633 37
18. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:25.851 + 3.043 36
19. Giedo van der Garde NED Caterham Renault CT03 1:25.953 + 3.155 30
20. Jules Bianchi FRA Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:26.078 + 3.270 31
21. Charles Pic FRA Caterham Renault CT03 1:26.930 + 4.122 35
22. Max Chilton GBR Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:26.970 + 4.162 26

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.