James Nash has claimed his first WTCC victory

James Nash has secured his – and the Bamboo Engineering team’s – first ever World Touring Car Championship win in today’s second race at the Salzburgring, keeping points leader Yvan Muller at bay in another exciting twelve-lap race at the Austrian circuit.

Having narrowly missed out on a win in a race-long battle with Michel Nykjær in today’s opening race, Nash was a picture of determination in Race 2.

But is almost went pear-shaped as soon as the lights went out at the standing start, failing to convert his pole position into the lead when he was overtaken on the run into Turn 1 by Norbert Michelisz’s Zengõ Motorsport Honda.

He kept his cool, and used the Chevrolet’s superior top speed along the back straight to blast by the Hungarian and retake the lead, which he held on to for the rest of the race.

Behind him, Michelisz led the other Honda runners Tiago Monteiro and Gabriele Tarquini, but Tarquini wasn’t as well hooked up as his fellow Civic racers and fell down the order to finish eighth.

Defending WTCC title-holder Rob Huff made a terrific start, but he was one of several drivers to fall victim to the customary Chevrolet charge – led again by Nykjær and Yvan Muller – and was quickly overhauled by the rapid Chevrolet pair.

As he managed in Race 1, Muller once again tore through the field. He passed Nykjær for fifth place on the fourth lap and blasted by Pepe Oriola for fourth a lap later with another clinical move at the end of the back straight.

On the eighth lap, he eased ahead of Monteiro for the final spot on the podium, and then claimed second place from Michelisz on the penultimate lap.

Nash overtook Michelisz on the opening lap and was never headed en route to victory in Race 2.Ultimately, he didn’t have enough laps in the bag to challenge Nash for the lead and the win, but few would begrudge the 27-year-old his triumph.

For the first time in WTCC history, Independent Trophy drivers had claimed the top step of the podium in each race, underlining the improved competitiveness of the privateer runners in this year’s field.

For Muller, a double-podium and a low-scoring weekend for his main title rival Tarquini was reward enough: the Frenchman extended his championship lead to a hefty 80 points over the Italian, while Nash’s bumper points haul moved him into third place overall.

2013 FIA WTCC Race of Austria – Race 2 Final Classification (12 laps):

Driver Team Result YIT
1. James Nash GBR Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet 17:36.853 Y
2. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 1.438  
3. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengõ Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 1.818
4. Tiago Monteiro POR Castrol Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 3.483
5. Michel Nykjær DEN NIKA Racing Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 4.064 Y
6. Alex MacDowall GBR Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet + 4.574 Y
7. Pepe Oriola ESP Tuenti Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 7.898 Y
8. Gabriele Tarquini ITA Castrol Honda Civic WTCC Honda + 9.025  
9. Robert Huff GBR Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 9.483  
10. Tom Coronel NED ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW + 9.859
11. Marc Basseng DEU Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 13.627  
12. James Thompson GBR LADA Sport Granta LADA + 14.145  
13. Fredy Barth SUI Wiechers-Sport BMW 320TC BMW + 14.556 Y
14. Franz Engstler DEU Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 14.857 Y
15. Mikhail Kozlowskiy RUS LADA Sport Granta LADA + 15.155
16. Mehdi Bennani MOR Scuderia Proteam BMW 320TC BMW + 16.223 Y
17. Fernando Monje ESP Campos Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 27.497 Y
18. René Münnich DEU Münnich Motorsport SEAT León WTCC SEAT + 41.749 Y
19. Charles Ka-Ki Ng HKG Liqui Moly Engstler BMW 320TC BMW + 46.282 Y
  Not Classified Result  
NC. Tom Chilton GBR RML Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T Chevrolet 6 laps  
DNS. Stefano D’Aste ITA PB Sport BMW 320TC BMW   Y
DNS. Darryl O’Young HKG ROAL Motorsport BMW 320TC BMW   Y
DNS. Hugo Valente FRA Campos Racing Team SEAT León WTCC SEAT   Y

“Y” denotes Yokohama Independent Trophy competitor.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.