Nico Rosberg leads a jumbled-up starting grid for this year's Monaco Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg will start from pole position for the fourth time in his Formula 1 career at today’s Monaco Grand Prix, which will also mark the third time on the trot that the German starts from top spot on the grid.

Today’s starting grid will look like this:

          1. Nico Rosberg DEU 1:13.876
2. Lewis Hamilton GBR + 0.091     Mercedes AMG Petronas Mercedes
  Mercedes AMG Petronas Mercedes          
          3. Sebastian Vettel DEU + 0.104
4. Mark Webber AUS + 0.305     Red Bull Racing Renault Red Bull Racing  
  Red Bull Racing Renault Red Bull Racing            
          5. Kimi Räikkönen FIN + 0.946
6. Fernando Alonso ESP + 0.948     Lotus Renault Lotus F1  
  Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari            
          7. Sergio Pérez MEX + 1.262
8. Adrian Sutil DEU + 1.507     McLaren Mercedes McLaren
  Force India Mercedes Force India            
          9. Jenson Button GBR + 1.771
10. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA + 1.827     McLaren Mercedes McLaren  
  Toro Rosso Ferrari Toro Rosso            
          11. Nico Hülkenberg DEU 1:18.331
13. Daniel Ricciardo AUS 1:18.344     Sauber Ferrari Sauber  
  Toro Rosso Ferrari Toro Rosso            
          13. Romain Grosjean FRA 1:18.603
14. Valtteri Bottas FIN 1:19.077     Lotus Renault Lotus F1  
  Williams Renault Williams            
          15. Giedo van der Garde NED 1:19.408
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN 1:21.688     Caterham Renault Caterham  
  Williams Renault Williams            
          17. Paul di Resta GBR 1:26.332
18. Charles Pic FRA 1:26.633     Force India Mercedes Force India  
  Caterham Renault Caterham            
          19. Esteban Gutiérrez MEX 1:26.917
20. Jules Bianchi FRA no time     Sauber Ferrari Sauber
  Marussia Cosworth Marussia            
          21. Felipe Massa BRA no time
22. Max Chilton GBR 1:27.303     Scuderia Ferrari Ferrari PENALTY
  Marussia Cosworth Marussia PENALTY          


And for those looking for a bit of trivia ahead of today’s race, here are a few mind-blowing (or otherwise!) statistics to impress or bore your friends with:

  • While it might be Nico Rosberg’s third pole position in a row, he still falls well short of the all-time record of eight on the trot claimed by Ayrton Senna between the 1988 Spanish Grand Prix and the United States Grand Prix the following year.
  • With Giedo van der Garde qualifying fifteenth, the Caterham team toasted its best qualifying performance since Heikki Kovalainen’s 13th-placed effort at the 2010 Belgian Grand Prix.
  • Ferrari has not won the Monaco Grand Prix since 2001, which also marks the fifth and final time that Michael Schumacher won the event
  • Today marks 45 years since Jules Bianchi’s great-uncle Lucien finished on the podium here at the 1968 Grand Prix, driving a Cooper BRM.
  • Victory Lewis Hamilton or Kimi Räikkönen will move them up the ranks on the all-time winners list. If Hamilton wins, he will move to equal-twelfth on the all-time list (tied with Damon Hill on 22 wins), while Räikkönen would become Finland’s most victorious F1 driver if he claims his 21st win, which would move him ahead of Mika Häkkinen.
  • Should Mark Webber claim victory, he will become the thirty-second driver in Formula 1 history to claim ten Grand Prix wins. It would also make him the seventh three-time winner of the event, behind Ayrton Senna (six wins), Michael Schumacher and Graham Hill (five apiece), Alain Prost (four), Sir Stirling Moss and Sir Jackie Stewart (three each).
  • It will also be Mark Webber’s 202nd Grand Prix start, which moves him to twelfth place on the all-time starters’ list ahead of Jean Alesi.

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.