Marco Andretti celebrates pole position at Milwaukee

Marco Andretti has led an Andretti Autosport front-row lockout ahead of Saturday’s Milwaukee IndyFest, narrowly edging out teammate James Hinchcliffe for top spot in a closely-contested battle for pole on Friday afternoon.

In a dominant performance for the four-car Andretti Autosport stable, it managed to get all of its cars inside the top-five: reigning champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was fourth-quickest, while EJ Viso was one spot behind.

With Andretti breaking the one-mile circuit’s lap record en route to pole, the result was even more significant at a venue which effectively serves as the team’s home event – Andretti Sports Marketing took over as the race’s promoter last year.

“I couldn’t ask for a better [Father’s Day] present,” team owner Michael Andretti beamed. “It would be great for [Marco] for his championship to get those points, but also it would be another special family moment at Milwaukee if that were to happen.”

The only driver who could hold a candle to the all-Andretti assault was Will Power, who hustled his Team Penske entry into the third-quickest time.

Behind the top-five, there were a couple of surprise performers. Sebastián Saavedra took his Dragon Racing entry into sixth position – one spot ahead of Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan – while Josef Newgarden claimed the honours as the fastest Honda runner with the eighth-fastest time, ahead of the SPH entries of Simon Pagenaud and Tristan Vautier.

But there were also some disappointed faces in the paddock after qualifying. Chip Ganassi Racing once again flattered to deceive: although Scott Dixon just missed out the top ten, teammates Dario Franchitti (17th) and Charlie Kimball (22nd) couldn’t string their two-lap efforts together into a competitive grid position.

Texas racewinner Hélio Castroneves suffered from being the first runner out in qualifying, with the less-grippy conditions giving him just 18th on the grid in the second Penske entry.

2013 IndyCar Series Milwaukee IndyFest Final Qualifying Results:

Driver   Entry / Team Average Speed
1. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport 170.515mph
2. James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport 170.418mph
3. Will Power AUS Team Penske 170.212mph
4. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 170.100mph
5. E.J. Viso Team Venezuela / Andretti Autosport 169.828mph
6. Sebastián Saavedra Dragon Racing 169.732mph
7. Tony Kanaan BRA KV Racing Technology 169.482mph
8. Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing 169.462mph
9. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton HP Racing 169.311mph
10. Tristan Vautier Schmidt Peterson Hamilton HP Racing 169.215mph
11. Scott Dixon NZL Chip Ganassi Racing 168.820mph
12. James Jakes Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 168.470mph
13. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing 168.412mph
14. Sébastien Bourdais Dragon Racing 168.141mph
15. Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises 168.023mph
16. Alex Tagliani CAN Barracuda Racing 167.512mph
17. Dario Franchitti Chip Ganassi Racing 167.263mph
18. Hélio Castroneves BRA Team Penske 167.169mph
19. Ryan Briscoe AUS Panther Racing 165.765mph
20. Ana Beatriz BRA Dale Coyne Racing 165.364mph
21. Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing 164.797mph
22. Charlie Kimball USA Chip Ganassi Racing 164.124mph
23. Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 163.230mph
24. Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Technology 162.886mph supports a world free of factory farming. Learn more and pledge your support by CLICKING HERE!

Matthew Lennon
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.