If Esteban Gutierrez were to repeat his Chinese Grand Prix antics in 2014, he would cop a penalty points hit under F1's new-for-2014 rules

Formula 1’s rulemakers have confirmed that a penalty points system will be introduced next season, passing it and a number of other sporting regulations changes during the latest meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council at Goodwood.

The penalty points system has been mooted for some time as the sport saw ways of tackling repeat offenders. Under the new rule, drivers who clock up 12 penalty points within a twelve-month period will find themselves banned from the following Grand Prix.

“Points will stay on the driver’s licence for 12 months. The amount of points a driver may be given for infringements will vary from one to three depending upon the severity of the offence,” the FIA statement confirming the rules change reads.

The World Motor Sport Council also signed off on additional rules changes, with some of the key announcements being:

  • Four two-day track tests will be allowed in-season in place of the current eight one-day promotional days and the three-day Young Driver Test;
  • Track testing will now also be permitted in January 2014 in order to allow earlier testing of the new turbocharged 1.6-litre V6 engine units that form the basis of next year’s new technical regulations;
  • All mechanics working on a car during a pit stop must wear safety helmets in a bid to improve team personnel safety;
  • Each driver will be provided with one extra set of tyres for use only during the first 30 minutes of first practice on Friday, to encourage teams to take to the track in FP1;
  • Drivers will be required to use their gearboxes for six consecutive Grand Prix weekends in 2014, an increase of one Grand Prix from the current regulations;
  • Only five power units (being the engine, turbocharger, MGU and Energy Store) may be used in-season by each driver. Any use of an additional complete power unit will result in the driver being forced to start from the pit lane for the race. A change to any component in the power unit will result in a ten-place grid penalty;
  • No more than one engine can be homologated by a manufacturer during the new homologation period, which will run from 2014-2020. Changes to the homologated unit will only be permitted for installation, reliability or cost saving reasons;
  • Mercedes will be permitted to supply engines to up to four teams in 2014;
  • A universal 80km/h pit lane speed limit will be adopted at each Grand Prix venue for the entirety of that Grand Prix event. The exceptions will be the Australian, Monaco and Singapore Grands Prix, which will be capped at 60km/h.
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.