Shane van Gisbergen has won pole position for today's Townsville 400 opener

Shane van Gisbergen blitzed the field in qualifying for today’s opening race of the Sucrogen Townsville 400. The Kiwi lapped the Reid Park circuit in a blistering 1:12.51, which handed the Tekno Autosport pilot his third pole position for the season.

The 24 year-old was last on track in the Top-10 Shootout, and easily trumped FPR’s Will Davison by two tenths of a second. Davison will line up second on the grid after holding provisional pole for much of the shootout. Rounding out the top three was Fabian Coulthard for Lockwood Racing, who was on track for a front row start before a slightly slower final sector hampered his efforts.

Fourth was Jason Bright in the second Brad Jones Racing Commodore, three-hundredths of a second ahead of Mark Winterbottom in the second Pepsi Max sponsored FG Falcon. James Courtney will start sixth for the Holden Racing Team, in front of 20 year-old Scott McLaughlin at the scene of his Dunlop series round victory last year. Alex Davison was eighth-fastest in the shootout, ahead of David Reynolds and Tim Slade, both of whom made significant mistakes under hard braking in their respective laps.

Earlier, Shane van Gisbergen topped the time sheets in the 20 minute Q1 session with a 1:15.55 in the dying stages. Mark Winterbottom set the second fastest time, six hundredths of a second off van Gisbergen’s pace.

The story of the session was the failure of Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup to book a Top-10 Shootout ticket. The Red Bull Racing Australia pair will start from 12th and 16th respectively. Garth Tander will also be disappointed having only managed 15th in his HRT Commodore, while van Gisbergen’s Jonathon Webb struggled to 17th on the grid after a run of impressive finishes in recent rounds.

Rick Kelly narrowly missed a place in the Shootout for Nissan Motorsport, while his Norton Racing stablemates failed to make an impression in qualifying after a promising start to the weekend. The updated ’Nissan Hornets’ of James Moffat and Michael Caruso will start from a lowly 24th and 26th respectively.

The opening 200 kilometre leg of the Townsville 400 kicks off at 3:35pm Australian Eastern Standard Time.

2013 V8 Supercars Sucrogen Townsville 400 – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team T10 Result
1. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports 1:12.5139
2. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 0.2373
3. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.2434
4. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3940
5. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 0.4245
6. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 0.4418
7. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.4817
8. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 0.6165
9. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 1.1972
10. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 1.5630
Driver Entry / Team Q1 Result*
11. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.3529
12. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 0.3543
13. Tony D’Alberto Holden Team HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.3745
14. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.3750
15. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 0.3897
16. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 0.4747
17. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 0.4766
18. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 0.4768
19. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.5311
20. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.6092
21. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 0.6155
22. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 0.7230
23. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.7632
24. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.8611
25. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.9066
26. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.9771
27. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 1.1573
28. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1.1926

* Denotes relative gap to fastest Q1 qualifier, Shane van Gisbergen (1:13.5569) supports a world free of factory farming. Learn more and pledge your support by CLICKING HERE!

Tristan Clark
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.