Marco Andretti claimed pole position for the IndyCar Series' return to Pocono

The Andretti Autosport stable shows no signs of slowing down, with the team dominating qualifying on the IndyCar Series’ return to Pocono.

With the ever-improving Marco Andretti heading teammates Ryan Hunter-Reay and James Hinchcliffe on the timesheets, it was the first time since the 1988 Indianapolis 500 that a team had secured a three-wide front-row lockout.

Team Penske maintained its ‘best of the rest’ position, with its two cars securing spots on the second row of the grid: Will Power was fourth-fastest, while teammate and championship leader Helio Castroneves was sixth.

The pair sandwiched Tony Kanaan in the first of the KV Racing entries, with the team enjoying a good qualifying performance courtesy of the Brazilian’s teammate Simona de Silvestro turning around a poor run of qualifying performances with a top-ten effort.

With Chevrolet-powered cars occupying the first two rows of the grid for Sunday’s 400-mile race, it was a bad day for Honda, which saw five of its runners – Chip Ganassi’s Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti, Dale Coyne Racing’s Justin Wilson and Pippa Mann, and BHA’s Alex Tagliani – hit with ten-place grid penalties for unauthorised engine changes.

The best Honda runner was Scott Dixon in seventh place, but his grid penalty gives that title to Takuma Sato, who will start from the inside of the third row alongside Simon Pagenaud and de Silvestro.

A couple of notable drivers came to grief around the challenging, high-banked oval. EJ Viso collected the barriers on his second flying lap, while Alex Tagliani didn’t even manage to complete a first timed lap in his two-lap outing, clouting the SAFER barriers at Turn 1.

Panther Racing substitute Ryan Briscoe will also start from the rear of the field, being unable to participate in qualifying due to his American Le Mans Series commitments on the same day at Lime Rock.

2013 IndyCar Series Pocono 400 Final Qualifying Results:

Driver   Entry / Team Average Speed
1. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport 221.273mph
2. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 220.892mph
3. James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport 220.431mph
4. Will Power AUS Team Penske 220.286mph
5. Tony Kanaan BRA KV Racing Technology 219.625mph
6. Hélio Castroneves BRA Team Penske 219.581mph
7. Scott Dixon* NZL Chip Ganassi Racing 219.500mph
8. Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises 219.124mph
9. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton HP Racing 218.859mph
10. Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Technology 218.590mph
11. Tristan Vautier Schmidt Peterson Hamilton HP Racing 218.575mph
12. Sébastien Bourdais Dragon Racing 218.517mph
13. Charlie Kimball USA Chip Ganassi Racing 218.435mph
14. James Jakes Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 218.240mph
15. Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing 218.100mph
16. Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing 217.832mph
17. Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 217.457mph
18. Dario Franchitti* Chip Ganassi Racing 217.047mph
19. Pippa Mann* Dale Coyne Racing 216.980mph
20. Justin Wilson* Dale Coyne Racing 216.872mph
21. Sebastián Saavedra Dragon Racing 215.570mph
22. E.J. Viso* Team Venezuela / Andretti Autosport no time
23. Ryan Briscoe AUS Panther Racing no time
24. Alex Tagliani* CAN Barracuda Racing no time

* Denotes 10-place grid penalty supports a world free of factory farming. Learn more and pledge your support by CLICKING HERE!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.