The Flying Frenchman - Romain Grosjean topped final practice at the Hungarian Grand Prix

Final practice for the Hungarian Grand Prix saw a slightly jumbled order at the top of the timesheets. Romain Grosjean followed on from his strong showing in yesterday’s second practice session to finish fastest with a best time of 1:20.730, over a second under last year’s pole position time posted by Lewis Hamilton.

The stage is set for Grosjean to claim his maiden Formula 1 pole position and race win. The Frenchman qualified on the front row here last year, and has also won here before in the junior categories. He definitely has form at the Hungaroring.

Surprising – and yet encouraging – pace for McLaren saw Sergio Perez snatch third place from Sebastian Vettel by just under a tenth of a second. Teammate Jenson Button backed up his comments of fighting for a win in Spa by placing his MP4-28 just inside the top 10 in ninth place.

Perez ran strongly until he binned his McLaren in the barriersBut Perez’s efforts were overshadowed by a late mishap in the final two minutes of practice. Coming out of Turn 10, the Mexican got a little too greedy and used more of the track that he thought was available, putting his left rear onto the grass, pitching him into the barriers at Turn 11. He caused considerable damage to the front left of his car, giving his mechanics an uphill battle to repair his car in less than two hours before qualifying gets underway.

His compatriot Esteban Gutierrez fared far worse. The Sauber driver encountered engine problems with his Ferrari V6 unit, sidelining him for most of the session. He failed to set a time.

Toro Rosso again struggled with their one lap pace, while Sutil, Raikkonen, Maldonado, Di Resta and Hulkenberg just finished outside the top ten and were separated by just four tenths of a second. It’ll be an interesting battle for Q3 with potentially fifteen drivers in contention for the final session.

2013 Hungarian Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 3 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:20.730   20
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:20.898 + 0.168 13
3. Sergio Pérez MEX McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:21.052 + 0.322 10
4. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:21.125 + 0.395 27
5. Felipe Massa BRA Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:21.151 + 0.421 14
6. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:21.158 + 0.428 19
7. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:21.254 + 0.524 17
8. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:21.356 + 0.626 23
9. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:21.499 + 0.769 15
10. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:21.519 + 0.789 20
11. Kimi Räikkönen FIN Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:21.589 + 0.859 17
12. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Renault FW35 1:21.646 + 0.916 19
13. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:21.963 + 1.233 21
14. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Sauber Ferrari C32 1:21.964 + 1.234 21
15. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:22.180 + 1.450 18
16. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:22.423 + 1.693 19
17. Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Renault FW35 1:23.028 + 2.298 16
18. Giedo van der Garde NED Caterham Renault CT03 1:23.975 + 3.245 21
19. Charles Pic FRA Caterham Renault CT03 1:23.987 + 3.257 19
20. Jules Bianchi FRA Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:24.298 + 3.568 20
21. Max Chilton GBR Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:25.122 + 4.392 20
22. Esteban Gutiérrez MEX Sauber Ferrari C32 no time   2 supports a world free of factory farming. Learn more and pledge your support by CLICKING HERE!

Josh Kruse
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.