Matt Halliday will co-drive with Dean Fiore at the Endurance Cup races

New Zealand international racer Matt Halliday is the final driver appointment to be confirmed for the upcoming Pirtek Endurance Cup leg of this year’s V8 Supercars Championship.

The veteran endurance racer will reunite with Dean Fiore in Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden, following the pair’s partnership at last year’s Sandown 500 and Bathurst 1000 events when Fiore drove for Dick Johnson Racing.

Halliday’s appointment will add further experience to the two-car LDM operation, joining fellow co-driver Paul Morris in completing the team’s driver line-up for the season’s endurance racing leg, which concludes with the Gold Coast 600 in October.

This will be Halliday’s ninth appearance at the Bathurst 1000, and he’ll be hoping to improve on his best finish of fourth at Mount Panorama, which he earned in 2010 driving alongside Jason Bright.

Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport has struggled in its first season as a two-car operation, with Fiore and teammate Scott Pye languishing in 20th and 26th in the championship standings.

The pair has been unable to come close to their early-season form shown at the season-opening Clipsal 500, and resorted to calling upon championship leader Jamie Whincup to pilot one of its cars at a recent test at Winton Raceway – Whincup races for Triple Eight Engineering, from whom LDM’s cars are built.

Triple Eight Engineering has announced that it will field a third wildcard entry for the Bathurst 1000. While it is yet to confirm who will pilot its extra car, it is widely expected that former MotoGP champion Casey Stoner – who is competing in his maiden season in the V8 Supercars Development Series – will be one of the drivers.

The Endurance Cup driver line-up is as follows:

No. Entry / Team Lead Driver Co-Driver
1. Triple 8 Engineering Holden Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell
2. Holden Racing Team Holden Garth Tander Nick Percat
3. Tony D’Alberto Racing Holden Tony D’Alberto Jonny Reid
4. Erebus Motorsport AMG Lee Holdsworth Craig Baird
5. Ford Performance Racing Ford Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards
6. Ford Performance Racing Ford Will Davison Steve Owen
7. Nissan Motorsport Nissan Todd Kelly David Russell
8. Brad Jones Racing Holden Jason Bright Andrew Jones
9. Erebus Motorsport AMG Maro Engel Steven Johnson
12. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Chaz Mostert Dale Wood
14. Brad Jones Racing Holden Fabian Coulthard Luke Youlden
15. Nissan Motorsport Nissan Rick Kelly Karl Reindler
17. Dick Johnson Racing Ford Tim Blanchard Ashley Walsh
18. Ford Performance Racing Ford Alex Davison John McIntyre
19. Tekno Autosports Holden Jonathon Webb Marc Lieb
21. Brad Jones Racing Holden David Wall Chris Pither
22. Holden Racing Team Holden James Courtney Greg Murphy
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Scott McLaughlin Jack Perkins
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Alexandre Prémat Greg Ritter
36. Nissan Motorsport Nissan Michael Caruso Daniel Gaunt
47. Erebus Motorsport AMG Tim Slade Andrew Thompson
55. Ford Performance Racing Ford David Reynolds Dean Canto
66. SuperCheap Auto Racing Holden Russell Ingall Ryan Briscoe
80. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden Scott Pye Paul Morris
88. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden Dean Fiore Matt Halliday
97. Tekno Autosports Holden Shane van Gisbergen Jeroen Bleekemolen
360. Nissan Motorsport Nissan James Moffat Taz Douglas
888. Triple 8 Engineering Holden Craig Lowndes Warren Luff

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.