Nissan has claimed a historic 1-2 in Saturday's SuperSprint race at Winton

James Moffat has led home a historic 1-2 finish for Nissan Motorsport in today’s 60/60 SuperSprint race at Winton Raceway, claiming his and the Nissan Altima racer’s first win in the V8 Supercars Championship.

Leading home teammate Michael Caruso by less than a second, Moffat became the eleventh different racewinner and the fourth driver to claim his first career win in 2013.

Victory came courtesy of a shock retirement for polesitter and reigning champion Jamie Whincup, who was forced into the pits after just nine laps of the opening ‘leg’ race. His DNF handed the lead to Caruso, who led home Moffat and Ford’s Mark Winterbottom at the end of the first twenty-lap leg.

When the second twenty-lap race got underway after the ten-minute half-time interval, it was Moffat who surged into the lead while Caruso fluffed his getaway with a missed gearshift off the line.

Moffat surged ahead of teammate Caruso at the start of the second 60-kilometre race

The second-generation racer was never headed from that point, doing just enough to keep Caruso at bay to give the Altima its first win in its maiden year of competition, and Nissan’s first year since its last year in Australian touring car competition some 21 years before.

Former Winton winner Jason Bright finished third to complete the podium, overtaking Mark Winterbottom on the opening lap of the second leg to guarantee himself the final podium position.

Behind Winterbottom – who takes a healthy chunk of points out of Whincup’s championship lead – fifth place went to James Courtney, while Will Davison, Fabian Coulthard, Garth Tander, Russell Ingall and David Reynolds rounded out the top ten.

Whincup’s DNF was a complete disaster, however, as his teammate and closest championship rival, Craig Lowndes, had a torrid race and could only bring his ill-handling Holden home in 21st place.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tomorrow sees the field tackle two 100-kilometre races, and all eyes will be on Nissan to see if it can back up on today’s significant result.

2013 V8 Supercars Winton 360 – Race 1 Final Classification (40 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport 1:22:06.512
2. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.808
3. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 5.483
4. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 6.125
5. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 6.384
6. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 11.025
7. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 13.831
8. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 18.019
9. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 18.345
10. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 20.061
11. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 22.948
12. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 25.189
13. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 26.116
14. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 26.850
15. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 28.081
16. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 28.813
17. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 28.896
18. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 29.083
19. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 31.553
20. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 32.100
21. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 32.488
22. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 32.641
23. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 35.025
24. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 35.221
25. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 35.393
26. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 35.575
27. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 36.107
  Not Classified      
DNF. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering 9 laps

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.