Jamie Whincup will start from pole position for Saturday's SuperSprint race at Winton Raceway

Reigning V8 Supercars champion Jamie Whincup has denied Nissan Motorsport a sensational front-row lockout in qualifying for Saturday’s SuperSprint race at Winton Raceway.

The Nissan Motorsport team had shown incredible frontrunning pace in the preceding practice sessions at its home test circuit, marking a tremendous turnaround in the team’s form when compared with the previous round at Queensland Raceway, where the Altimas had struggled to qualify off the back row of the grid.

Michael Caruso and James Moffat proved the quicker pair in the four-car stable, holding down a provisional front-row start until a late effort from Whincup proved enough to guarantee the reigning champion a record eleventh pole position of the season.

Caruso tried to wrestle pole position back from Whincup on his final flying lap, only to spin off at the penultimate corner in the final seconds of the twenty-minute qualifying session, triggering an early end to proceedings.

That red flag proved enough to ruin the final flying laps of several runners, leaving some of the more-fancied contenders – such as Garth Tander (16th) and Craig Lowndes (18th) – buried well down the field.

It marked the second stoppage of the session, with Tim Slade triggering the first red flag when he buried his Erebus AMG in the kitty litter, losing his promising lap times as a result of his error.

Caruso was rather more fortunate to keep his times, and will start from the front row, one spot ahead of Moffat, who shares the second row of the grid with Fabian Coulthard in the Brad Jones Racing Holden.

Mark Winterbottom was best of the Ford runners in fifth place, while Shane van Gisbergen, Jason Bright, James Courtney, Will Davison and David Reynolds completed the top-ten.

With the lap times again proving to be incredibly close over the course of the session – the fourteen-fastest runners were covered by just two-tenths of a second – Scott Pye showed a dramatic improvement from recent form, qualifying his Lucas Dumbrell Holden an impressive eleventh, while Tony D’Alberto was equally rapid in his single-entry Holden.

2013 V8 Supercars Winton 360 – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering 1:22.2129
2. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.0165
3. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.0444
4. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.0813
5. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1157
6. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 0.1453
7. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.1464
8. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 0.1483
9. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1491
10. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1612
11. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.1620
12. Tony D’Alberto Holden Team HIFLEX / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.1692
13. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 0.1700
14. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 0.1915
15. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.3039
16. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 0.3704
17. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 0.3836
18. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 0.3936
19. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4129
20. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.4332
21. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.4966
22. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 0.5107
23. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.5144
24. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 0.6443
25. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 0.7472
26. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.7661
27. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 0.8215
28. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport Disallowed

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.