James Courtney has claimed victory in the final race at Winton Raceway

James Courtney has taken his first V8 Supercars race win in over two years, taking victory from pole position in today’s final 100-kilometre race at Winton Raceway. He is now the twelfth different race-winner in the 27 races held to-date this year.

The Holden Racing Team driver led the field away from pole position, easing away to form a comfortable gap ahead of Chaz Mostert, who was involved in a tense scrap to defend his position from Will Davison.

There was action right at the start when Todd Kelly was tipped into a spin into the infield barriers as the field took off from the grid. Series leader Jamie Whincup was the culprit, and this prompted what would be the first of three safety car interruptions during the race.

Todd Kelly was fired into the mud barely seconds into the race

There was more drama before the field had caught the safety car at the end of the opening lap. Rookie driver Scott Pye had copped a whack in the exhaust of his Holden and was heading into the pits to have the damage inspected, but he didn’t get that far when the back of his car burst into flames. The youngster was able to bring his car to a stop at the entry to pit lane and emerged from the car without injury while the track marshals put out the mess.

The race continued without major incident until the final dozen laps. Race 2 winner Mark Winterbottom – who had qualified badly for this race – was not making much progress through the field, and after several laps pinned behind Rick Kelly, the made a lunge up the inside of the Nissan driver at Turn 3.

The pair ran side-by-side through the next corner, leaving Kelly holding the inside line on the approach to the Turn 5 left-hander. But the Nissan driver appeared to squeeze Winterbottom over to the right, and the pair touched, with the contact breaking Kelly’s right-rear suspension and firing him into the circuit’s infield.

The safety car was brought out once again, prompting those running outside the top-dozen runners to pit for fresh tyres, leaving those in the front half of the field potentially vulnerable as they stayed out on older rubber.

The safety car was brought out almost as soon as it had peeled back into the pits, with Jason Bright doing the honours after getting himself buried axle-deep in the muddy circuit infield.

That gave the freshly-shod runners an even better shot at making their way to the front of the pack. Fabian Coulthard and Garth Tander were two of the biggest beneficiaries, with Coulthard climbing to second place, grabbing the spot from Mostert just a few corners from the chequered flag, with a jubilated Courtney crossing the finish line three seconds up the road.

Mostert finished third ahead of Tander and Shane van Gisbergen, while Will Davison claimed sixth place, consolidating his championship tilt while fellow title rivals Winterbottom, Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup finishing further down the order.

Get Adobe Flash player

2013 V8 Supercars Winton 360 – Race 3 Final Classification (34 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR 55:19.837
2. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 2.951
3. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 4.539
4. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 4.707
5. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 4.968
6. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 6.066
7. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 6.601
8. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 7.045
9. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 8.705
10. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 13.817
11. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 14.194
12. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 14.564
13. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 14.709
14. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 14.893
15. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 15.119
16. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 15.529
17. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 15.708
18. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 15.929
19. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 16.626
20. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 19.052
21. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 24.160
22. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 42.786
  Not Classified      
DNF. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport 33 laps
DNF. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 25 laps
DNF. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport 21 laps
DNF. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 0 laps
DNF. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport 0 laps
DNS. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR  

RichardsF1.com supports a world free of factory farming. Learn more and pledge your support by CLICKING HERE!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.