McLaren marks fifty years since its founding

Today marks fifty years since the McLaren Formula 1 team was founded, with driver Bruce McLaren setting up his eponymous team in a small workshop in Surrey.

Today, the outfit has a world-class facility in Woking, and with an incredible tally of 182 wins, 483 podiums, 47 one-two finishes, 155 pole positions and 153 fastest race laps, it stands as one of the most successful Grand Prix teams in history.

The team made its Formula 1 debut at the 1966 Monaco Grand Prix, with McLaren claiming his team’s first win two years later.

Almost fifty years on, the team has won a total of eight Constructors’ Championships and a dozen Drivers’ Championship crowns, running 61 drivers in its history, including luminaries such as James Hunt, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Mika Häkkinen and Lewis Hamilton.


“McLaren started as the dream of one man, and it’s since grown to encompass the hopes and dreams of more than 2000 men and women, who work as tirelessly as Bruce McLaren himself once did to ensure that everything we do reflects well when compared with everything we’ve ever achieved,” McLaren Group chairman Ron Dennis said today.

“So, our 50th anniversary provides an opportunity for every single McLaren employee to realise that he or she is an utterly crucial part of an organisation with a history and a culture that really mean something.”

Congratulations McLaren!

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.