Dumbrell leads the way to win the opening Sandown 500 sprint race

Paul Dumbrell has cruised to an easy win in today’s co-driver only sprint race at the Sandown 500 to ensure that Jamie Whincup starts from pole position for today’s closing sprint race that will determine the final grid for the Sandown 500.

Starting from the pole position earned by Whincup in the day’s earlier qualifying session, Dumbrell led for all but the opening lap-and-a-half of the twenty-lap race after being outdragged by fellow front-row starter Dale Wood off the starting line.

But Dumbrell quickly returned serve, passing the Dick Johnson Racing Ford co-driver on the second lap of the race before easing away to claim victory by over four seconds, twice having to build out a lead after the middle of the race was interrupted by a safety car.

Second place would go to Will Davison’s co-driver Steve Owen, who carved his way up through the field from sixth place on the grid, thanks in no part to lightning getaway that saw him gain three places before the first turn.

Wood would finish third, leading a freight train of co-drivers including Nick Percat, Warren Luff, Dean Canto, Steven Richards, Jack Perkins and Andrew Thompson.

The co-driver-only race is – at least in the eyes of the team managers and main drivers – meant to be a sedate affair in order for the cars to be returned undamaged to the lead drivers for the day’s second sprint race, but evidently a few of the co-drivers either hadn’t read – or chose to ignore – that memo.

Paul Morris – a driver well-known for some very rough driving during his full-time career – was not surprisingly in the thick of it once again, scoring a spectacular own-goal when he collected Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport teammate Matt Halliday on the opening lap, pitching the Kiwi driver into a spin.

Ashley Walsh and John McIntyre also had a coming together a few moments later, leading to Walsh’s DJR Falcon suffering a spectacular bonnet failure when the safety car – which had been called out to help retrieve the stranded TEKNO Holden of Jeroen Bleekemolen – pulled back into the pits.

Ashley Walsh suffered this spectacular bonnet blowout!
Ashley Walsh suffered this spectacular bonnet blowout!

Ryan Briscoe was another driver to find himself in the wars. The IndyCar racewinner was turned around by Chris Pither after he tried to squeeze the BJR Holden at Turn 10. Jonny Reid retired his D’Alberto Holden with a throttle failure.

Craig Baird was another driver who had a good result go begging, as the Erebus Motorsport team’s luck was again tested. The New Zealand sports car ace would have finished eleventh, but suffered a deflated tyre and spun out after making contact with Andrew Jones’ BJR Holden.

2013 V8 Supercars Sandown 500 – Sprint Race 1 Final Classification (20 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Paul Dumbrell Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering 24:44.7060
2. Steve Owen Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 3.6182
3. Dale Wood Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 4.9288
4. Nick Percat Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 5.4450
5. Warren Luff Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 6.5648
6. Dean Canto Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 6.9151
7. Steve Richards Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 7.2491
8. Jack Perkins Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 7.6852
9. Andrew Thompson AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 8.1544
10. Greg Murphy Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 8.6137
11. Luke Youlden Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 13.5612
12. Steven Johnson AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 15.6692
13. Greg Ritter Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 15.9561
14. Andrew Jones Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 16.3965
15. David Russell Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 16.5896
16. Chris Pither Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 16.7468
17. Taz Douglas Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 17.1545
18. Matthew Halliday Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 20.0973
19. Daniel Gaunt Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 20.8598
20. Marc Lieb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 22.4561
21. Karl Reindler Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 22.8108
22. John McIntyre Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 43.5846
23. Ryan Briscoe Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 1:08.6170
  Not Classified      
DNF. Craig Baird AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport 19 laps
DNF. Ashley Walsh Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 13 laps
DNF. Jeroen Bleekemolen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports 10 laps
DNF. Jonny Reid Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 7 laps
DNF. Paul Morris Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 0 laps

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.