image image image

Will Power has claimed victory in the second of the Houston double-header races, although the finish of Sunday’s race was marred by a massive accident for Dario Franchitti on the final lap.

The Scot was launched off the back of Takuma Sato’s car along the fence line, causing huge damage to his Chip Ganassi racer, which shed several larges pieces of bodywork into the crowd.

While no spectator injuries were reported, the same could not be said for the multiple champion, who was extracted from his car and taken to hospital, where he has been diagnosed with concussion, a fractured right ankle and spinal fractures – although thankfully without damage to his damage cord.

As was the case in Saturday’s opener, Race 2 featured a great battle for the lead between Power and Race 1 winner Scott Dixon. This time it was Power who came out on top, jumping the Kiwi driver after an early restart and controlling the race from that point to claim his second win of the season.

Dixon finished second and moved into the championship lead ahead of Hélio Castroneves, who again had a disastrous race.

The Brazilian was given a default pole position after the morning’s qualifying session was washed out, but his lead didn’t last long after damaging his gearbox casing over one of the street circuit’s notorious bumps.

The Penske driver tried to carry on for a few more laps, but his Chevrolet-powered car started to hemorrhage gearbox oil before he ground to a halt. His mechanics managed to perform some hasty repairs and set him back out – albeit 28 laps down – to try and salvage a few points.

After stalling in Race 1’s standing start and getting hit from behind, James Hinchcliffe bounced back to finish third, ahead of Justin Wilson and Sébastien Bourdais.

The race saw a total of eight safety car interruptions, with most being triggered by spins or single-car slides into the barriers. Saturday podium finisher Simona de Silvestro was perhaps the exception, putting both Tristan Vautier and Graham Rahal into the wall when she rather optimistically attempted to overtake both in a single move.

Not surprisingly, the KV Racing driver was hit with a drive-through penalty for her troubles (she still managed to finish tenth) while Josef Newgarden was issued with a similar penalty for tapping Marco Andretti into a spin.

2013 IndyCar Grand Prix of Houston – Race 1 Final Classification (90 laps):

Driver   Entry / Team Laps Result
1. Will Power AUS Team Penske 90 1:52:28.9525
2. Scott Dixon NZL Chip Ganassi Racing 90 + 0.8286
3. James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport 90 + 4.3629
4. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing 90 + 5.0234
5. Sébastien Bourdais Dragon Racing 90 + 8.0120
6. Simon Pagenaud SPH Racing 90 + 11.0712
7. Oriol Servia ESP Panther Racing 90 + 14.0815
8. Charlie Kimball USA Chip Ganassi Racing 90 + 15.1566
9. Mike Conway Dale Coyne Racing 90 + 15.5568
10. Simona de Silvestro KV Racing Technology 90 + 31.3618
11. Tristan Vautier SPH Racing 90 + 32.9460
12. Sebastián Saavedra Dragon Racing 90 + 38.3799
13. Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing 90 + 1:19.5633
14. Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises 89 Collision
15. Dario Franchitti Chip Ganassi Racing 89 Collision
16. E.J. Viso Team Venzuela / Andretti 89 Collision
17. James Jakes Rahal Letterman Lanigan 89 1 lap behind
18. Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan 88 2 laps behind
19. Luca Filippi ITA Barracuda Racing 88 2 laps behind
20. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport 88 2 laps behind
21. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 87 3 laps behind
Not Classified        
DNF. Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing 61 Mechanical
NCF. Hélio Castroneves BRA Team Penske 53 37 laps behind
DNF. Tony Kanaan BRA KV Racing Technology 32 Contact

Wanted Design: Rewarding Business with your Creative Thinking

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.