Sebastian Vettelonce again set the pace in practice at the Indian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel dominance of the subcontinent continued once again, with the German backing up his first practice session efforts to post the fastest time in today’s closing session at the Indian Grand Prix.

The Red Bull Racing driver went even quicker, lapping 0.289 seconds faster than teammate Mark Webber, while rival outfits were left to ponder the continued pace of the RB9 racers.

After completing an initial run on the Pirelli Medium compound tyre, Vettel was the first frontrunner to switch to the Soft option compound at the half-hour mark, cementing his position with faster and faster sector times after his 1:25.722 benchmark lap, but opted to abandon bettering it and returned to the pits.

Webber once again assumed second position behind Vettel – as has been the story all year – while Romain Grosjean led the ‘best of the rest’ charge for Lotus with the third-fastest time, albeit almost half a second off Vettel’s pace.

Fernando Alonso bounced back from his morning gearbox issues to split the Mercedes pair of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, while Felipe Massa kept a watching brief in seventh place on the timing screens.

Kimi Räikkönen enjoyed much better balance from his Lotus to post the eighth-fastest time, although he was still almost half a second down on teammate Grosjean on the stopwatch, while the McLaren pair of Sergio Pérez and Jenson Button continued the MP4-28’s so-far promising pace by rounding out the top ten.

Maldonado's right-front wheel failsThe biggest incident of the session came when Pastor Maldonado – for the second Grand Prix running – shed a wheel from his Williams. Shortly after a tour through pit lane, the Venezuelan had to park his car when his right-front wheel worked loose, earning the team another €60,000 fine from the FIA Stewards for failing to secure the wheel fasteners on the car.

2013 Indian Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Session Times:

Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:25.722   35
2. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Racing Renault RB9 1:26.011 + 0.289 38
3. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:26.220 + 0.498 36
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:26.399 + 0.677 36
5. Fernando Alonso ESP Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:26.430 + 0.708 39
6. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W04 1:26.582 + 0.860 40
7. Felipe Massa BRA Scuderia Ferrari F138 1:26.601 + 0.879 41
8. Kimi Räikkönen FIN Lotus F1 Renault E21 1:26.632 + 0.910 32
9. Sergio Pérez MEX McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:26.857 + 1.135 40
10. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-28 1:26.972 + 1.250 39
11. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:27.304 + 1.582 17
12. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:27.375 + 1.653 36
13. Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Renault FW35 1:27.429 + 1.707 31
14. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Sauber Ferrari C32 1:27.491 + 1.769 40
15. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM06 1:27.608 + 1.886 38
16. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Renault FW35 1:27.720 + 1.998 23
17. Esteban Gutiérrez MEX Sauber Ferrari C32 1:27.949 + 2.227 34
18. Jean-Éric Vergne FRA Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR8 1:28.431 + 2.709 30
19. Giedo van der Garde NED Caterham Renault CT03 1:28.692 + 2.970 39
20. Jules Bianchi FRA Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:28.799 + 3.077 32
21. Charles Pic FRA Caterham Renault CT03 1:29.366 + 3.644 37
22. Max Chilton GBR Marussia Cosworth MR02 1:30.164 + 4.442 27

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.