Craig Lowndes will start from pole position for Saturday's opening leg of the Gold Coast 600

Craig Lowndes has claimed pole position in today’s Top-10 Shootout for the opening leg of the ArmorAll Gold Coast 600. The Red Bull Racing Australia driver took advantage of misfortune for his main championship rivals to ensure top spot was his, edging out James Courtney for top spot.

Second-fastest in preliminary qualifying, Lowndes was the penultimate man out on track in the Shootout, with his lap unable to be bettered by the fastest early qualifier, Garth Tander, who finished up third-quickest.

Tony D’Alberto finished an impressive fourth-quickest, ahead of Scott McLaughlin, David Reynolds and Rick Kellym who completed the top seven. Michael Caruso had his lap time excluded for not respecting the track limits, while sixth-fastest Fabian Coulthard was also excluded for failing to stop at the weighbridge when instructed.

Fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen messed up his lap time when he locked up and overshot the first chicane.

Lowndes’ main championship rivals all had disastrous qualifying sessions. Ford Performance Racing duo Mark Winterbottom and Will Davison qualified in 14th and 21st respectively, while Lowndes’ teammate Jamie Whincup had his fastest lap time omitted after tagging the Turn 3 wall and causing the session to be red-flagged.

The first 300-kilometre race gets underway at 14:30 local time (GMT +10).

2013 V8 Supercars Gold Coast 600 – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Craig Lowndes / Warren Luff Holden Triple 8 Engineering 1:10.9569
2. James Courtney / Greg Murphy Holden Walkinshaw Performance + 0.0918
3. Garth Tander / Nick Percat Holden Walkinshaw Performance + 0.2425
4. Tony D’Alberto / Jonny Reid Holden Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.2783
5. Scott McLaughlin / Jack Perkins Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.5165
6. David Reynolds / Dean Canto Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.9893
7. Rick Kelly / Karl Reindler Nissan Nissan Motorsport + 1.0755
8. Michael Caruso / Daniel Gaunt Nissan Nissan Motorsport no time
9. Fabian Coulthard / Luke Youlden Holden Brad Jones Racing no time
10. Shane van Gisbergen / Jeroen Bleekemolen Holden Tekno Autosports no time
  Top-10 Shootout Cut-Off – 1:10.8011 Entry / Team Result*
11. James Moffat / Taz Douglas Nissan Nissan Motorsport + 0.6432
12. Tim Blanchard / Ashley Walsh Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6531
13. Lee Holdsworth / Craig Baird AMG Erebus Motorsport + 0.7694
14. Mark Winterbottom / Steve Richards Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.7809
15. Russell Ingall / Ryan Briscoe Holden Walkinshaw Performance + 0.8427
16. Alex Davison / John McIntyre Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.8630
17. Tim Slade / David Brabham AMG Erebus Motorsport + 0.8649
18. Alexandre Prémat / Greg Ritter Holden Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.8655
19. David Wall / Chris Pither Holden Brad Jones Racing + 0.8987
20. Dean Fiore / Matt Halliday Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.9116
21. Will Davison / Steve Owen Ford Ford Performance Racing + 0.9327
22. Jonathon Webb / Marc Lieb Holden Tekno Autosports + 0.9695
23. Chaz Mostert / Dale Wood Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 0.9752
24. Scott Pye / Paul Morris Holden Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 0.9983
25. Jamie Whincup / Paul Dumbrell Holden Triple 8 Engineering + 1.3661
26. Todd Kelly / David Russell Nissan Nissan Motorsport + 1.3796
27. Maro Engel / Steven Johnson AMG Erebus Motorsport + 1.4666
NQ. Jason Bright / Andrew Jones Holden Brad Jones Racing no time

* Denotes gap to fastest preliminary qualifying time of 1:10.1593 posted by Garth Tander.

Youth Without Borders

Yassmin Abdel-Magied
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.