The Super Aguri team will return to motorsport next year, competing in the Formula E Championship

The Super Aguri name will be making a comeback next year, with former team owner and F1 driver Aguri Suzuki confirming that he will enter a team in the inaugural Formula E Championship.

Suzuki is the fifth team owner to announce his foray into the all-electric open-wheel racing series, which will pit teams of three cars on street circuit races where the pit stops will see the drivers change cars.

Already confirmed in the inaugural championship are IndyCar outfits Andretti Autosport and Dragon Racing, endurance racing team Drayson Racing and a new venture called e.dams, which a jointly-owned effort fielded by four-time World Champion Alain Prost and DAMS founder Jean-Paul Driot.

“Today is a new chapter for the Super Aguri name and I’m proud that our team will represent Japan in the inaugural Formula E series,” Suzuka explained at the announcement of his team’s motorsport comeback.

“Zero emissions racing is a progressive concept, and after more than 40 years as both a driver and team owner, I see Formula E as a great stride towards the future.”

Suzuki raced in Formula 1 for eight seasons between 1988-1995 for the likes of Zakspeed, Larrousse, Footwork, Jordan and Ligier, achieving a best finish of third at the 1990 Japanese Grand Prix.

From 1997 onwards, he dabbled in team ownership in the Japanese Formula Nippon Championship and Super GT series’, before co-founding an Indy Racing League team with Adrian Fernandez.

His dream of running a Formula 1 team was realised in 2006 when he launched the Super Aguri F1 Team, which served as a platform for Honda to field a second team in the championship. Despite a woeful lack of funds, the team embarrassed its works Honda counterpart in 2007 before collapsing in mid-2008 after Honda pulled the pin on further financial support.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.