The 2014 V8 Supercars Championship calendar has been given its final sign-off

The championship calendar for the 2014 V8 Supercars Championship has been confirmed today, with the events at Barbagallo Raceway and Queensland Raceway securing sign-off to remain on the championship calendar.

Both rounds had been slated provisionally when the first cut of the calendar was revealed in September, but now both have been confirmed as occurring on the weekends of May 17-18 and August 2-3 respectively.

However, Queensland Raceway will still have to undergo a complete safety audit following the recent death of Porsche Supercup driver Sean Edwards, who was killed in a customer driving day at the Ipswich cirucit three weeks ago.

The finalised calendar will see the season open with its traditional event in Adelaide, the Clipsal 500, continuing to crisscross the country before finishing with the Sydney 500 on the first weekend of December.

Aside from some reordering of the events, the major change compared to the 2013 calendar is the dumping of the Austin Texas 400 at the Circuit of the Americas, which will be replaced by a round at the Sydney Motorsport Park.

Several of the Saturday-timed races will be staged during twilight conditions in order to boost TV audience numbers, although the exact details of which events will have this scheduling are still not yet know.

Date Event Venue Format
FEB 15 AUS Open Test Day Sydney Motorsport Park  
MAR 01-02 AUS Clipsal 500 Adelaide Adelaide street circuit SuperStreet
MAR 14-16 AUS Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Circuit Non C’ship
MAR 28-30 AUS Tasmania 400 Symmons Plains Raceway SuperSprint
APR 05-06 AUS Winton 400 Winton Motor Raceway SuperSprint
APR 25-27 NZL ITM 500 Auckland Pukekohe Park Raceway SuperSprint
MAY 17-18 AUS Perth 400 Challenge Barbagallo Raceway SuperSprint
JUN 21-22 AUS SkyCity Triple Crown 400 Hidden Valley Raceway SuperSprint
JUL 05-06 AUS Townsville 500 Townsville street circuit SuperStreet
AUG 02-03 AUS Coates Hire Ipswich 400 Queensland Raceway SuperSprint
AUG 23-24 AUS Sydney Motorsport Park 400 Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint
SEP 13-14 AUS Wilson Security Sandown 500 Sandown Raceway Enduro Cup
OCT 10-12 AUS SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Mount Panorama Circuit Enduro Cup
OCT 25-26 AUS ArmorAll Gold Coast 600 Surfers Paradise street circuit Enduro Cup
NOV 15-16 AUS Phillip Island 400 Phillip Island GP Circuit SuperSprint
DEC 06-07 AUS Sydney 500 Sydney Olympic Park SuperStreet

SuperSprint events: held at all of the road course circuits, the format will feature two separate 100-kilometre races on Saturday and a 200-kilometre race on Sunday;
SuperStreet events: held on all of the street circuit rounds, separate 250-kilometre races held on Saturday and Sunday;
PIRTEK Endurance Cup: the Sandown 500, Bathurst 1000 and Gold Coast 600 events

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.