Jamie Whincup overhauled teammate Craig Lowndes to win the final race at Phillip Island

Jamie Whincup has further extended his lead in the Drivers’ Championship standings with victory in the final sprint race at Phillip Island.

The result sets up a thrilling showdown between he and Red Bull Racing Australia teammate Craig Lowndes at next fortnight’s Sydney 500 finale.

Whincup’s victory came off the back of an outstanding sequence of laps and overtaking moves at the start of the 23-lap race. The defending champion moved from fifth to first in the space of the first two laps, carving his way by Fabian Coulthard, Jason Bright, Mark Winterbottom and Lowndes in rapid succession.

Lowndes held the lead for the first lap-and-a-half, but was clearly struggling with rear tyre grip and surrendered the lead to Whincup at Turn 3 on Lap 2, losing second place to Winterbottom a lap later.

The top-three ran in that order for the remainder of the race, although there was the potential to reshuffle this order courtesy of two Safety Car interruptions, but Whincup managed each restart to perfection to keep an urgent Winterbottom at bay, while Lowndes slipped back to finish over twenty seconds adrift in third, fighting off Jason Bright in the final laps.

The first full-course caution was triggered by Lee Holdsworth shedding a left-front wheel at Lukey Heights. The errant wheel was sent skating across the circuit infield and back on the track, only to be collected by a hapless Jonathon Webb. Then then sent it bouncing through the gravel before it launched over the spectator fencing – fortunately it avoided any spectators, but two fans’ parked cars were damaged.

Ingall crunched into MostertThe race was restarted but almost immediately put into caution again, this time when David Reynolds tipped Chaz Mostert into a spin at the Turn 4 hairpin; Mostert’s Ford was hit side-on by Russell Ingall, which led to the instant retirement for both.

Behind the top-four, Will Davison, James Moffat, Rick Kelly, Alex Davison and Shane van Gisbergen completed the top ten finishers.

Whincup’s second finish in front of Lowndes this weekend has now given him a 20-point lead over Lowndes, while Winterbottom is 105 points further adrift in third. Will Davison also remains mathematically in contention for overall championship honours, but he sits 223 points behind Whincup with a maximum of 300 points up for grabs in Sydney.

2013 V8 Supercars Phillip Island 360 – Race 3 Final Classification (23 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering 42:22.900
2. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 0.885
3. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 21.753
4. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 22.244
5. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 23.202
6. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 25.033
7. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 27.892
8. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 28.912
9. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 33.302
10. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports + 30.510
11. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 31.133
12. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 31.669
13. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 32.110
14. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 32.576
15. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 33.171
16. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 33.388
17. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 34.084
18. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 35.294
19. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 36.658
20. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 48.223
  Not Classified      
DNF. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport 21 laps
DNF. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR 14 laps
DNF. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 14 laps
DNF. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports 12 laps
DNF. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing 11 laps
DNF. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport 9 laps
WD. James Courtney Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR Withdrawn
WD. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport Withdrawn

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.