Jean Todt was re-elected as FIA President

Jean Todt has been re-elected, unopposed, to the role of President of motorsport’s governing body, the FIA. The announcement was made on the final day of the group’s Annual General Assembly in Paris.

The former Ferrari team principal ran unopposed in the election for a second term as President, managing to stave off challenges from both David Ward and Mohammed bin Sulayem, neither of whom was able to muster the support for a serious challenge.

“Thank you for so strongly endorsing our team,” Todt told the delegates after the announcement was confirmed.

“"We are both humbled and proud to have your trust to guide our great organisation for another four years.”

Todt succeeded longstanding FIA President, Max Mosley, for the top job in 2009. He will now serve a second four-year term in office.

Todt ran on a similar ticket to his 2009 campaign, and a number of his administration’s positions will have the same figures in their respective posts.

Nick Craw remains as President of the FIA Senate, while Graham Stoker and Brian Gibbons will remain as Deputy Presidents (for the Sport and Mobility sections, respectively).

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.