Jamie Whincup has joined the ranks of the all-time Australian touring car greats by securing his fifth Drivers’ Championship title.

The Red Bull Racing Australia driver finished third in Sunday’s curtain-closing race at Sydney Olympic Park, which was won from pole position by Shane van Gisbergen.

Whincup headed into the race with a 110-point margin over teammate Craig Lowndes, and with a maximum of 150 points up for grabs, he simply needed to finish no worse than 21st in the race to claim his fifth title.

While cooler heads might have prevailed, Whincup was determined to end the year on a high with back-to-back wins after claiming victory in Saturday’s opening 250-kilometre race.

Van Gisbergen won the race from pole position

Starting from fourth place, Whincup elected to pit early and successfully undercut the long-runner van Gisbergen to assume the lead after the first of two compulsory pit stops had played themselves out.

Whincup made his second pit stop during a mid-race safety car interruption, and took a third tour through the pits for a splash-and-dash stop to ensure he had enough fuel to see him to the end of the race.

Van Gisbergen, meanwhile, stuck with a conventional two-stop strategy and remained on-track during the caution period to run a long middle stint.

When he pitted for the second and final time he emerged from pit lane alongside Whincup as he barrelled down the start/finish straight.

The pair ran side-by-side through Turn 1, but Whincup’s warmer tyres ensured he had the better traction as they exited the left-hander.

But it took all of a lap for the New Zealander’s fresh tyres to come up to temperature, and he took a tried-and-trusted lunge down the inside of his fellow Holden runner on the very next lap to reclaim the position.

That left the pair in third and fourth behind Jason Bright and David Reynolds, whose rather unconventional strategies worked perfectly with the safety car interruptions to see them run 1-2 in the final stint.

Van Gisbergen successfully chased down Bright to claim victoryBut both were very marginal with fuel and tyre wear, and Reynolds was quickly shuffled down to fourth, leaving Bright with the challenge of managing his fuel consumption in the hope of scoring an unlikely win.

Bright’s defence was dogged, but van Gisbergen managed to nip by the former champion and claim the lead.

Whincup sensed the prospect of a quick profit at little cost and tried to follow van Gisbergen through, but Bright shut the door and the pair made contact at the final corner. The pair was lucky the hit wasn’t harder, as it could have ended Whincup’s championship tilt then and there.

The pair ran side-by-side down the start/finish straight and Bright retook the position, while a more circumspect Whincup opted to settle for third place, chased over the finish line by Reynolds and Lowndes.

The result ensured a fifth championship title for Whincup, who joined the ranks of Ian Geoghegan, Dick Johnson and Mark Skaife as the series’ only other five-time Drivers’ Championship winners.

The remaining Ford Performance Racing runners – Mark Winterbottom and brothers Will and Alex Davison – followed up next, with the brother switching positions in the closing stages to ensure Will managed to leapfrog his teammate Winterbottom for third in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

Chaz Mostert capped off an impressive rookie season with ninth place ahead of his move to replace the Erebus Motorsport-bound Davison at FPR next year, while the retiring Russell Ingall farewelled his full-time V8 Supercars Championship career with tenth place, staging a typically dogged recovery drive after starting 24th on the grid.

2013 V8 Supercars Sydney 500 – Race 2 Final Classification (74 laps):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Shane van Gisbergen Holden VIP Petfoods / Tekno Autosports 1:58:09.033
2. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 1.947
3. Jamie Whincup Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 2.512
4. David Reynolds Ford Bottle-O Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 2.832
5. Craig Lowndes Holden Red Bull Racing AU / Triple 8 Engineering + 3.678
6. Mark Winterbottom Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 4.224
7. Will Davison Ford Pepsi Max Crew / Ford Performance Racing + 7.386
8. Alex Davison Ford Jeld-Wen Racing / Ford Performance Racing + 8.243
9. Chaz Mostert Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing + 8.429
10. Russell Ingall Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing / TWR + 8.908
11. Tim Slade AMG Heavy Haulage Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 9.487
12. Scott McLaughlin Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 11.946
13. Lee Holdsworth AMG IRWIN Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 13.151
14. Tony D’Alberto Holden HIFLEX Racing / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 16.473
15. Fabian Coulthard Holden Lockwood Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 17.037
16. Alexandre Prémat Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 18.825
17. Todd Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 19.402
18. Rick Kelly Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 20.421
19. Michael Caruso Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport + 24.662
20. Maro Engel AMG SP Tools Racing / Erebus Motorsport + 32.551
21. Dean Fiore Holden Dodo Insurance / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport + 1:14.058
22. David Wall Holden Wilson Security Racing / Brad Jones Racing + 1 lap
23. Jonathon Webb Holden Darrell Lea Racing / Tekno Autosports + 8 laps
24. Nick Percat Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR + 11 laps
  Not Classified      
DNF. Scott Pye Holden EKOL Racing / Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport 58 laps
DNF. Tim Blanchard Ford Wilson Security Racing / Dick Johnson Racing 53 laps
DNF. Garth Tander Holden Holden Racing Team / TWR 39 laps
DNF. James Moffat Nissan Norton 360 Racing / Nissan Motorsport 30 laps

Youth Without Borders

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.