The BBC will broadcast nine Grands Prix live next year

The BBC has confirmed that it will broadcast nine Grands Prix live during next year’s Formula 1 World Championship season.

As has been the case since it was forced to sell part of its exclusive broadcasting rights to the pay-TV network SKY, the Britain’s public broadcaster will showcase a mix of live events and delayed highlights packages over the course of the 2014 season.

The BBC’s first live Grand Prix will be in Malaysia, followed by the Spanish, Canadian, British, Belgian, Italian, Japanese, Russian and Abu Dhabi races.

SKY will showcase all Grands Prix live, with live coverage of all practice sessions, qualifying and the race, ad-free.

Under the terms of its sale of its broadcasting rights to SKY, the BBC gets to pick the first three events it wants, with SKY following suit to nab the next three it wants to broadcast exclusively. From that point, both sides lock in one Grand Prix at a time until the slots are claimed.

The BBC will continue with delayed-broadcast highlights of the other ten Grands Prix, although it will continue to have live radio broadcasts all events on BBC Radio 5 and 5 Live Sports Extra.

Neither the BBC nor SKY has announced its talent line-ups for the 2014 season.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.