Chinese driver Ma Qing Hua has been confirmed as Citroën Racing’s fourth driver for the French carmaker’s FIA World Touring Car Championship debut.

The youngster will join Yvan Muller, Sébastien Loeb and José María López in driving the team’s four purpose-built C-Elysée WTCC cars in this year’s championship.

Ma Qing Hua previously served as a test driver with HRTF1 and CaterhamWhile his three teammates will contest every round of the championship, Ma’s schedule will be capped at five rounds: with the Moscow, Spa-Francorchamps, Shanghai, Macau and an as-yet undecided fifth event making up his commitments.

The team had previously made it clear that it wanted a Chinese driver for the flyaway rounds, and after testing a number of drivers, it opted for Ma, who has previously served stints as a test driver with the HRTF1 and Caterham F1 outfits.

Ma is also no stranger to touring cars either, having won the Chinese Touring Car Championship’s 1600cc class title in 2011.

“It is a great honour to have been chosen by Citroën Racing for this ambitious programme,” Ma said in Citroën’s media release announcing his appointment.

“I am really excited about the opportunity to race for a manufacturer with such a winning record and I will do my best to help Citroën to keep winning! It would, of course, be particularly special for me to have a good result in Macau and my hometown of Shanghai. But for now, I’m just looking forward to getting back behind the wheel of the C-Elysée WTCC.”

“We chose Ma Qing Hua not just for his nationality, but also for his performances,” Citroën Racing team boss Yves Matton added.

“He made a positive impression on us during various tests in the C-Elysée WTCC. We won’t be able to enter four cars in every round of the championship in this first season, but we’ve managed to put together a coherent programme.”

Image via Planet GT

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.