The IndyCar Series has joined in on the ‘double points’ trend, today announcing overnight that it will double the points on offer at its three 500-mile oval racing events at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Poconoa Raceway and Fontana’s Auto Club Speedway.

The enhanced format will see the base points structure unchanged, and – unlike Formula 1’s season finale gimmick – it actually serves a viable purpose.

With just six of the 18 races in 2014 staged on ovals, the weighting of the championship played into the hands of those whose form on road and street circuits was more consistent.

Making three of the events ‘double points’ now pulls the maximum points claim 600-450 in favour of road/street circuits, whereas before it was 600-300.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th-24th >25th
500-mile Races 100 80 70 64 60 56 52 48 44 40 -2pts per place 10
All other races 50 40 35 32 30 28 26 24 22 20 -1pt per place 5

In addition to these points, drivers will also earn championship points as follows:

  • One point is awarded to any driver who leads at least one lap during a race. Two additional points are awarded to the driver who leads the most laps in a race.
  • At all races except the Indy 500, the driver who qualifies on pole earns one point.
  • Points will be awarded 33 through to 1 to the fastest 33 qualifiers in pre-qualifying for the Indianapolis 500. A further 9 through to 1 points will be awarded to the fastest nine qualifiers at the end of the ‘Fast 9’ qualifying session.
  • Entrant-initiated engine changes will result in the loss of 10 championship points.

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.