This year’s Indianapolis 500 field is steadily nudging its way towards a traditional 33-car starting list, with a sixth former winner joining the event’s roster.

Buddy Lazier has become the latest driver to confirm he’ll make a one-off appearance at the event, entering his family-run Lazier Partners Racing team for another hit-out at the world’s most famous oval race. Last year saw Lazier make a return to the event after a four-year absence, although he was the third driver to retire from the race after qualifying well down the order.

Also confirmed to make a one-off appearance is former Indy Lights Championship winner, Townsend Bell. The Californian has had a number of one-time Indy 500 outings over the years, with a best finish of fourth in 2009 with KV Racing Technology, the same team with whom he’ll attempt to qualify this year.

“In 2009 I had my best finish in Indy racing with KVRT, so coming back to the defending Indy 500 champions is special,” Bell said of his signing.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will have its first official Indy 500 practice session on May 11, a day after the inaugural running of the Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the venue’s road course layout. Qualifying will take place on the weekend of May 17-18, with the race occurring on May 25.

2014 Indianapolis 500 – Provisional Entry List:

# Driver Team / Entry Notes
2. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet 2000 winner
3. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet 2001-2, 2009 winner
5. Jacques Villeneuve ca Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda 1995 winner
6. Townsend Bell KV Racing Technology Honda  
7. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Rookie
8. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet  
9. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 2008 winner
10. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 2013 winner
11. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda  
12. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet  
14. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda  
15. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda  
16. Oriol Servia es Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda  
17. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda  
18. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Rookie
19. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda  
20. Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet  
21. J.R. Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet  
25. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda  
26. Kurt Busch Andretti Autosport Honda Rookie
27. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda  
28. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda  
34. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda  
41. Martin Plowman A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Rookie
67. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda  
68. Alex Tagliani ca Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda  
77. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda  
83. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet  
91. Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Racing Chevrolet 1996 winner
98. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Rookie

Image via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.