Post-race scrutineering has found that the car run by Grand Prix of Indianapolis race-winner Simon Pagenaud did not conform to the IndyCar Series’ technical regulations, yet the result was allowed to stand.
Instead, the Schmidt Peterson Motorsports team was fined just $1,000 with no further sanction.
The #77 car was found to have a non-confirming underwing splitter, violating Rule 188.8.131.52 of the technical regulations. It is not clear what performance advantage this may have given the Frenchman, who won from Ryan Hunter-Reay and Hélio Castroneves in an incident-filled race.
Under the series’ rules, the penalty does not have any effect on the outcome of the race, although it remains open to appeal in accordance with the championship’s statutes.
Image via IndyCar Series Media
Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)
- WTCR: Guerrieri outwits Muller at the Nordschleife - 26 September, 2020
- WTCR: Girolami breaks Nordschleife lap record to claim pole - 25 September, 2020
- WTCR: Hyundai withdraws from Germany round - 24 September, 2020
- WTCR: Ehrlacher leads Lynk & Co podium sweep at Zolder - 13 September, 2020
- WTCR: Girolami kicks off 2020 season with victory - 13 September, 2020