Fernando Alonso has spoiled Lewis Hamilton’s Thursday and finished the second practice session faster than the Mercedes driver and current championship leader.

In a session where nothing but an installation lap by Valterri Bottas occurred in the first 38 minutes due to a hailstorm that preceded the session; teams opted to keep their drivers in the garage as they believed they had nothing to learn on the intermediate tyres.

Kimi Raikkonen was one of the main talking points of the session as he encountered another technical problem, this time a gearbox issue. Although the problem saw him sit out the session with just one timed lap to his name, he should be clear for any gearbox related penalty as the gearbox that failed wasn’t the one the team was preparing to use on the weekend.

The majority of the session was a waiting game, with no drivers prepared to risk damage on a slippery Monaco surface. Adrian Sutil finally ended the game heading out in his Sauber for an installation lap. He was followed shortly after by the Toro Rosso pair.

With just under 10 minutes to go, Jean-Éric Vergne was the first driver to brave the circuit on slicks, deciding on the soft tyre. Teams reacted and soon enough the track was filled with cars mixed with super soft and soft tyres.

From there lap times began to tumble, as the majority of the field contributed to drying the track and found more grip to push their cars to the limit. There was a slight interruption in proceedings when Marcus Ericsson brought out the yellow flags after he out-braked himself heading into Portier; although he managed to stop before hitting the barriers and reversed himself back on track.

Rather than the session being utilised for race simulations, lack of running saw the teams evaluate the difference between the slick tyre compounds ahead of FP3 and qualifying.

Sebastian Vettel finished in the top three showing good signs for Red Bull Racing, while Vergne and Valtteri Bottas rounded out the top five.

2014 Monaco Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Results:

Driver Team / Entry Time Gap Laps
1. Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari F14T 1:18.482 15
2. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W05 1:18.901 + 0.419 12
3. Sebastian Vettel Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault RB10 1:19.017 + 0.535 15
4. Jean-Éric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault STR9 1:19.351 + 0.869 14
5. Valtteri Bottas Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW36 1:19.421 + 0.939 9
6. Sergio Pérez Force India Mercedes Mercedes VJM07 1:19.668 + 1.186 9
7. Nico Hülkenberg Force India Mercedes Mercedes VJM07 1:19.712 + 1.230 10
8. Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes MP4-29 1:19.721 + 1.239 16
9. Daniel Ricciardo Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault RB10 1:19.779 + 1.297 11
10. Kevin Magnussen McLaren Mercedes MP4-29 1:20.230 + 1.748 16
11. Felipe Massa Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW36 1:20.394 + 1.912 8
12. Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault STR9 1:20.622 + 2.140 13
13. Adrian Sutil Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C33 1:20.811 + 2.321 8
14. Pastor Maldonado Lotus F1 Team Renault E22 1:20.977 + 2.495 7
15. Esteban Gutiérrez Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C33 1:21.467 + 2.985 8
16. Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team Renault E22 1:21.700 + 3.218 6
17. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham F1 Team Renault CT05 1:21.924 + 3.442 6
18. Jules Bianchi Marussia F1 Team Ferrari MR03 1:21.937 + 3.455 13
19. Max Chilton Marussia F1 Team Ferrari MR03 1:22.683 + 4.201 13
20. Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W05 1:22.862 + 4.380 11
21. Marcus Ericsson Caterham F1 Team Renault CT05 1:23.164 + 4.682 6
22. Kimi Räikkönen Scuderia Ferrari F14T 1:45.509 + 27.027 4

Image via Sutton Images


The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)