DAMS driver Jolyon Palmer has stormed to a dominant pole position ahead of tomorrow’s feature race in Monaco.

The unique qualifying session saw Palmer participate in group A (odd numbered cars) and head to the track before group B (even numbered cars) had their turn.

Palmer struggled to put a competitive lap in early on before deciding on pitting and waiting for a clearer tack to complete a flying lap.

palmer and cecotto monaco

Johnny Cecotto seemed to be Palmer’s biggest threat in the session, as the two drivers topped the practice sheets earlier in the day, as well as Cecotto spending quite a bit of time on provisional pole.

Heading towards the end of the session Palmer put in a blistering lap of 1:20.774 which would remain unbeaten in both of the qualifying sessions.

Mitch Evans improved his best time to split the fight between Palmer and Cecotto, placing his RT Russian Time second in the group.

Felipe Nasr found himself out of position, finishing well down the grid in 8th.

The second qualifying session started shortly after the conclusion of group A, where Sergio Canamasas was an early session leader for Trident.

It was a close session at the top end of the group; the top four of Rio Haryanto, Stéphane Richelmi, Stoffel Vandoorne and Stefano Coletti were just separated by two tenths of a second.

However, none of the drivers were able to get close to Palmer’s brilliant pole lap.

The feature race will take place on Friday.

2014 GP2 Series Race of Monaco – Qualifying Results:

Driver Team / Entry Time Gap Group
1. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 1:20.774 A
2. Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 1:21.188 + 0.414 A
3. Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident Racing 1:21.361 + 0.587 A
4. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:21.433 + 0.659 B
5. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:21.444 + 0.670 B
6. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:21.508 + 0.734 B
7. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1:21.649 + 0.875 B
8. Julián Leal Carlin Motorsport 1:21.752 + 0.978 B
9. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 1:21.760 + 0.986 A
10. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1:21.917 + 1.143 A
11. Sergio Canamasas es Trident Racing 1:21.926 + 1.152 B
12. Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:22.146 + 1.372 A
13. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:22.207 + 1.433 B
14. René Binder Arden International 1:22.270 + 1.496 B
15. Andrew Quaife-Hobbs Rapax Team 1:22.277 + 1.503 B
16. Simon Trummer Rapax Team 1:22.296 + 1.522 A
17. Felipe Nasr Carlin Motorsport 1:22.381 + 1.607 A
18. Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport 1:22.473 + 1.699 B
19. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 1:22.488 + 1.714 B
20. Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 1:22.588 + 1.814 A
21. Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:22.632 + 1.858 B
22. Tio Ellinas cy MP Motorsport 1:22.681 + 1.907 A
23. Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:22.997 + 2.223 A
24. Andre Negrão Arden International 1:23.178 + 2.404 A
25. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 1:23.529 + 2.485 A
26. Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 1:23.347 + 2.573 B

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)