The late Sir Jack Brabham’s legacy will be immortalised in motorsport history, with the Australian Grand Prix winner’s trophy being named in honour of the three-time Formula 1 World Champion.

The Australian Grand Prix Corporation has announced that the ‘Sir Jack Brabham Trophy’ will be awarded each year to the winner of the Grand Prix at Albert Park, a fitting tribute that will forever align his name with the pioneering changes he drove during his Formula 1 career.

The sport’s oldest-surviving World Champion passed away, aged 88, at his home on May 19.

The current Australian Grand Prix trophy design is already a tribute to Sir Jack, styled on the studded and spoked steering wheel used on the Cooper Climax racing car he piloted to the first of his World Championship crowns in 1959. It was the first title for a rear-engined car, forever changing the direction of the sport from its previous front-engined ethos.

Australia’s sole F1 representative on the 2014 grid, Daniel Ricciardo – who claimed his maiden Grand Prix victory in Sunday’s Canadian Grand Prix – was delighted to see this latest tribute to Australia’s racing pioneer.

“What he achieved was incredible and I think paying tribute to him each year with the Australian Grand Prix winner’s trophy is a fantastic way to celebrate this legend. It would be something very special to be able to lift that trophy,” he said.

“Racing at the Australian Grand Prix in front of a home crowd is a huge buzz; to be able to stand on the top step of the podium and lift the Sir Jack Brabham Trophy would be incredible.”

Sir Jack’s public state funeral will be held today at 1:30pm at the Southport Church of Christ on the Gold Coast and will be attended by motorsport elite from across the country and overseas. His three racing sons – Gary, Geoff and David – will be in attendance at the service, which will be streamed worldwide on the Confederation of Australian Motorsport (CAMS) website by clicking here.

Image via CAMS

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.