After getting the perfect start and disposing of the poor starting Stephane Richelmi, Carlin’s Felipe Nasr led comfortably to win the sprint race at Silverstone.

Racing Engineering’s Stefano Coletti also benefited from Richelmi’s start and slotted into second position, where he would finish the race despite having troubles with engine power in the latter stages of the race.

Nasr SilverstoneCaterham had yet another weekend to forget as Alexander Rossi stalled at the start of the race and eventually fell a lap behind, while his team-mate Rio Haryanto suffered front floor damage and was forced to retire.

Jolyon Palmer had yet another exceptional race, finishing in fourth place after starting in seventh. A battle for the final podium position against Johnny Cecotto Jr. ensued after Palmer passed Richelmi and a sleeping Julian Leal; however, Cecotto was too hard to pass and finished the race third.

Raffaele Marciello’s horrid weekend continued after an incident at the first corner of the race. Artem Markelov, Jon Lancaster, Sergio Canamasas and Marciello were all scrapping for position when Marciello and Canamasas collided. Marciello retired with a broken rear suspension while Canamasas retired 11 laps later as his rear wing suffered too much damage.

Marciello was on course to rectify an unlucky outing in yesterday’s feature race, moving up six places before the Turn One incident.

Marco Sorensen again scored point in his first GP2 weekend, passing Stoffel Vandoorne for eighth and the final points paying position after the Belgian ran slightly off track on lap five.

2014 GP2 Series Race of Britain – Sprint Race Result (21 laps)

Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Felipe Nasr Carlin Motorsport 21 36:12.279
2. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 21 + 4.384
3. Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident Racing 21 + 5.684
4. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 21 + 6.558
5. Julián Leal* Carlin Motorsport 21 + 9.116
6. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 21 + 12.275
7. Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 21 + 12.657
8. Marco Sørensen dk MP Motorsport 21 + 14.966
9. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 21 + 19.198
10. Andrew Quaife-Hobbs Rapax Team 21 + 19.968
11. Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 21 + 22.047
12. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 21 + 25.751
13. Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 21 + 32.896
14. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 21 + 39.002
15. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 21 + 39.553
16. Andre Negrão Arden International 21 + 41.043
17. Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 21 + 48.382
18. Simon Trummer Rapax Team 21 + 49.571
19. René Binder Arden International 21 + 49.837
20. Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 21 + 53.072
21. Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 20 1 lap behind
22. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 19 Collision
23. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 19 Collision
Not Classified
DNF. Sergio Canamasas es Trident Racing 9 Rear wing
DNF. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 7 Mechanical
DNF. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 0 Collision

Images via GP2 Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)