Juan Pablo Montoya is on pole position for Sunday’s IndyCar Series race Pocono Raceway, delivering two record-breaking laps around the tri-oval to pip Penske teammate Will Power for top qualifying honours. it was the Colombian’s fifth American open-wheel racing pole, although the first in his comeback.

Montoya’s two-lap average of 223.871mph was the fastest ever recorded around the three-turn speedway; his first flying lap – averaging 223.920mph (360.511km/h) – broke the fastest single-lap record around the circuit.

Teammate Power bounced back from a disastrous weekend last time out in Houston to start alongside Montoya on the front row; the pair line up ahead of series rookie Carlos Muñoz and the mercurial Takuma Sato.

Marco Andretti qualified fifth-fastest on his home track; he and teammate James Hinchcliffe ensured three Andretti Autosport entries qualified inside the top-six. Hélio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan made it an all-Brazilian fourth row, with Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ryan Briscoe completing the top ten.

While Kanaan and Briscoe delivered one half of the Chip Ganassi stable a solid qualifying result, the same could not be said for reigning champion Scott Dixon (15th) and Charlie Kimball (17th), who qualified well down the order. Neither Josef Newgarden nor Jack Hawksworth managed a time; the latter’s BHA entry suffered damage in an earlier practice accident.

2014 IndyCar Series Pocono 500 – Final Qualifying:

Driver Team / Entry Avg. Speed
1. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 223.871mph
2. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 223.725mph
3. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 223.083mph
4. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Honda 222.798mph
5. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 222.715mph
6. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 222.544mph
7. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 222.517mph
8. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 221.970mph
9. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 221.950mph
10. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 221.565mph
11. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 221.547mph
12. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 221.221mph
13. Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 221.019mph
14. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 220.747mph
15. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 220.604mph
16. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 220.439mph
17. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 220.377mph
18. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda Honda 219.741mph
19. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda Honda 218.502mph
20. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 216.261mph
21. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Honda no time
22. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Honda no time

Image via Chevrolet Motorsport

The following two tabs change content below.

Matt Lennon