The GP2 Series marked its 200th race in style with Mitch Evans storming through the field to win a thrilling Feature Race at the Hockenheim circuit.

Evans, who started the race in fifteenth position, chose to start on the soft tyres while most of the field opted for the mediums to run a longer stint.

The Russian Time driver was joined by Arthur Pic and Raffaele Marciello on the soft tyre, although after pitting with a long 17 laps to go and in uncanny circumstances, both Pic and Marciello’s cars went into safety mode in the pits and stalled.

The pair was running in the top ten and after a possible podium position dropped to the back of the pack, ruining their race.

gp2 podium

ART’s Stoffel Vandoorne looked set to return to the top step of the podium after a blistering start from second, disposing of the slow starting Jolyon Palmer.

Palmer was then put under pressure by Stefano Coletti, trading places on the first lap until the safety car was brought out due to a collision between Artem Markelov and Jon Lancaster.

Debris was also left on the track after Sergio Canamasas spun Conor Daly at the hairpin in a questionable move for position.

Once the safety car cleared the circuit racing resumed and just a few laps later there was more contact. This time a charging Mitch Evans squeezed Alexander Rossi as he was attempting to pass, knocking his front wing and damaging Rossi’s steering column which ended his race.

With 14 laps left to run, leading drivers who started on the medium tyre started to make their mandatory pit stop to change to the soft tyre.

It was here where Evans took the lead as Vandoorne came out of the pits just behind the New Zealander.

Evans had a massive task at hand to try and keep Vandoorne and Palmer behind him, both on fresher and faster tyres.

Positions changed every lap in the top 10 as drivers pulled out some incredible overtaking manoeuvres as they scrapped for points.

Felipe Nasr, Simon Trummer and Johnny Cecotto Jr. had a fantastic battle in the final stages of the race, including a gutsy pass by Nasr on Cecotto around the outside of Turn 13.

However it was the top three that remained the same as Evans drove one of the greatest defensive drives to win his second consecutive GP2 Feature Race.

2014 GP2 Series Race of Germany – Feature Race Result (38 laps)

Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 38 58:15.099
2. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 38 + 0.414
3. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 38 + 2.755
4. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 38 + 20.191
5. Felipe Nasr Carlin Motorsport 38 + 20.687
6. Simon Trummer Rapax Team 38 + 23.432
7. Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident Racing 38 + 30.583
8. Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 38 + 33.160
9. Marco Sørensen dk MP Motorsport 38 + 35.879
10. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 38 + 36.857
11. René Binder Arden International 38 + 37.111
12. Tom Dillman EQ8 Caterham Racing 38 + 38.081
13. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 38 + 43.096
14. Andrew Quaife-Hobbs Rapax Team 38 + 47.572
15. Sergio Canamasas es Trident Racing 38 + 49.996
16. Julián Leal Carlin Motorsport 38 + 58.217
17. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 38 + 1:02.333
18. Andre Negrão Arden International 38 + 1:04.818
19. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 38 + 1:05.181
20. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 38 + 1:09.082
21. Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 38 + 1:09.244
22. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 37 1 lap behind
Not Classified
DNF. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 24 Damage
DNF. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 12 Mechanical
DNF. Alexander Rossi Campos Racing 5 Steering
DNF. Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 0 Collision

Images via GP2 Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)