Sébastien Bourdais has won pole position for the first of this weekend’s two races on the streets of Toronto. The Frenchman has looked threatening at a number of street circuit events this year, and finally broke through to claim his first IndyCar Series pole.

The KVSH Racing driver shares the front row of the grid with IndyCar Series points leader, Team Penske’s Will Power, who held provisional pole until pipped by Bourdais on his final lap.

The pair starts ahead of Hélio Castroneves and last weekend’s winner at Milwaukee, Ryan Hunter-Reay. Simon Pagenaud and Tony Kanaan were the other runners who snuck into the ‘Fast Six’ segment of qualifying and will complete the third row of the grid.

Pagenaud complicated matters by crashing in the final segment of qualifying, clipping the inside wall on the final corner before rebounding into the wall at the start/finish flag man’s post.

Occasional IndyCar racer Luca Filippi showed his skills by narrowly missing out on a ‘Fast Six’ berth in the second Rahal Latterman Lanigan Racing entry; the Frenchman starts seventh ahead of Justin Wilson, James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Briscoe, who completed the top ten positions.

The earlier ‘Group’ qualifying sessions saw a number of high-profile casualties, with street circuit specialist Mike Conway failing to qualify inside the top-six in his group. Also failing to move beyond the first segment of qualifying were Takuma Sato, Jack Hawksworth, Charlie Kimball and Marco Andretti.

2014 IndyCar Series Honda Indy Toronto – Race 1 Qualifying:

‘Fast Six’ Session Team / Entry Time
1. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda Honda 58.9479
2. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.1025
3. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.1499
4. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 59.2672
5. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 59.3972
6. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.9987
‘Round 2’ Session Team / Entry Time
7. Luca Filippi it Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 59.2753
8. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 59.3406
9. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 59.3526
10. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.5319
11. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.8201
12. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 1:00.2193
Group Sessions Team / Entry Time
13. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Honda 59.4455
14. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 59.9495
15. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Honda 59.5367
16. Mike Conway Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 59.9904
17. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 59.5708
18. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Honda 1:00.1856
19. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda Honda 59.6806
20. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 1:00.2304
21. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 59.7244
22. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 1:00.2379
23. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 59.9816

Image via IndyCar Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Matt Lennon