Sébastien Bourdais has finally broken through to claim his first victory since returning to the American racing scene. The Frenchman dominated Sunday’s first of two races on the streets of Toronto to earn his first open-wheel racing win since 2007.

“It’s really sweet. We had to fight and wait for it for a long time but today was just kind of one of these days when the stars align,” the French veteran beamed afterwards.

“I guess I was not expecting it because here I know how things can go. Last year we were second and third and it’s great to get this win.”

Bourdais qualified on pole and finished three seconds up the road from series leader Hélio Castroneves, who extended his points lead over Penske teammate Will Power. Castroneves’ compatriot, Tony Kanaan, completed the podium.

Fourth place went to Simon Pagenaud, who bounced back from an early spin with another customary charge back through the field. Defending series champion Scott Dixon finished fifth. Graham Rahal, Charlie Kimball, James Hinchcliffe, Justin Wilson and Will Power completed the top-ten.

After the originally-scheduled race was washed out and postponed by a day, the field seemed to forget that there was another 65-lap race in the afternoon.

The opening lap saw a huge pile-up after Luca Filippi took out Pagenaud and sent the Frenchman spinning across the track. Mike Conway, Takuma Sato, Josef Newgarden, and Carlos Munoz were all caught out as Pagenaud’s car slid sideways in front of them. The accident completely blocked the track.

Former champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was another driver to come to grief during the race. The Andretti Autosport driver was ferried into the wall after contact with Tony Kanaan.

2014 IndyCar Series Honda Indy Toronto – Race 1 Result (65 laps):

Driver Team / Entry Result
1. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda Honda 1:15:44.3232
2. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet + 3.3408
3. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 4.8655
4. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda + 5.4271
5. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 12.5472
6. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda + 15.5804
7. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 28.6978
8. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda Honda + 31.1677
9. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet + 33.1220
10. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda + 33.7258
11. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda + 39.0741
12. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 43.3621
13. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Honda + 58.3644
14. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda + 58.4969
15. Mike Conway Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 58.9383
16. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Honda + 1:01.4298
17. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda Honda + 1:01.7675
18. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet – 1 lap
19. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda Honda – 1 lap
Did Not Finish
DNF. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Honda 63 laps
DNF. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 39 laps
DNF. Luca Filippi it Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 17 laps
DNF. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Honda 10 laps

Image via Motorsport.com

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.