Mike Conway has claimed his second IndyCar Series win of the season with a sensational charge to the lead in the closing laps of Sunday’s second race on the streets of Toronto.

The Ed Carpenter Racing driver took full advantage of an outstanding strategy, winning by three seconds after a late pass for the lead on Justin Wilson.

It was a race full of Safety Car interruptions brought about by some wet weather and very ill-disciplined driving from a number of runners, but Conway picked his way through the minefield and made a perfectly-timed call to switch to dry tyres in an unscheduled final pit stop.

The pit stop was triggered by yet another full course caution in what became a time-limited race. Carlos Huertas and Ryan Briscoe were the culprits; the pair made contact and spun, taking out championship leader Hélio Castroneves along with Ryan Hunter-Reay, Carlos Muñoz and Jack Hawsworth.

Wilson elected to remain out in the hope that the track wouldn’t dry too quickly after the rain stopped, but it wasn’t to be as Conway quickly got past and motored home to claim the Ed Carpenter Racing team’s third win of the season.

Kanaan – who earned his third podium on the trot – also climbed through and finished second, while Will Power cut into Castroneves’ slender points lead by completing the podium. Castroneves could do no better than finish twelfth with a mangled front wing.

Charlie Kimball finished in fourth place, while Takuma Sato ended a run of six DNFs by bringing his AJ Foyt-run car home in fifth position.

Hawksworth finished sixth despite getting caught out in the final multi-car accident; the English rookie crossed the line ahead of Scott Dixon, Marco Andretti, Race 1 winner Sébastien Bourdais and an unlucky Wilson.

There was a frightening accident earlier in the race when Mikhail Aleshin’s car slid under the back of Juan Pablo Montoya’s Penske, which had nosed into the Turn 8 tyres after getting caught out in a rain shower. The Russian rookie arrived on the scene far too quickly and drove straight into the back of the Colombian, whose car was now effectively parked on top of the youngster.

Montoya’s car had to be craned off Aleshin’s before he could be extricated from his car; Aleshin sported tyre marks on his helmet, reminding everyone of just how lucky he was to avoid serious injury.

2014 IndyCar Series Honda Indy Toronto – Race 2 Result (56 laps):

Driver Team / Entry Result
1. Mike Conway Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 1:20:35.5420
2. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 3.5418
3. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet + 5.1545
4. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 5.4857
5. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Honda + 6.6210
6. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Honda + 7.8701
7. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 7.9350
8. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Honda + 10.1765
9. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda Honda + 12.0212
10. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda + 15.7853
11. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet + 15.8671
12. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet + 16.2205
13. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Honda + 20.9127
14. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Honda + 22.6140
15. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda + 29.2715
16. Luca Filippi it Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda + 46.4382
17. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda Honda – 4 laps
18. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda Honda – 4 laps
19. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet – 4 laps
Did Not Finish
DNF. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 50 laps
DNF. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda Honda 49 laps
NC. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 47 laps
DNF. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 11 laps

Image via Motorsport.com

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.