Former Grand Prix racer Jérôme d’Ambrosio is the latest ex-Grand Prix racer to announce his participation in the inaugural FIA Formula E Championship. The Belgian will race for Dragon Racing, completing the Jay Penske-owned team’s driver line-up.

The 28-year-old has previously raced for Virgin Racing and Lotus and today races a Bentley in the Blancpain GT Series.

D’Ambrosio has been in the mix for a possible Formula E driver after two test outings with the China Racing outfit, but subsequently inked a contract with Dragon Racing instead. His teammate will be IndyCar street circuit specialist Mike Conway, who won a thrilling closing race at the series’ visit to Toronto last weekend.

“It is with great excitement that I will be at the wheel of the Dragon Racing entry in this historic first season of the FIA Formula E Championship,” d’Ambrosio said.

“I have watched the Dragon Racing organisation closely over the last few months and feel that together we can achieve great results during this first season.”

“I am so pleased to have Jérôme pilot one of our two Dragon Racing entries,” team owner Jay Penske added.

“After watching Jérôme’s performances in F1, as well as the most recent Formula E test, I feel that our drivers should prove to be a formidable force.”

D’Ambrosio’s appointment means that the twenty-car field has just three seats still unconfirmed: one at Andretti Autosport and two at China Racing.

2014-5 FIA Formula E Championship Entry List:

Team Driver 1 Driver 2
Amlin Aguri Katherine Legge António Félix da Costa
Andretti Autosport us Franck Montagny TBA
Audi Sport ABT Daniel Abt Lucas di Grassi
China Racing cn TBA TBA
Dragon Racing us Mike Conway Jérôme d’Ambrosio
e.dams Renault Sébastien Buemi ch Nicolas Prost
Mahindra Racing in Karun Chandhok in Bruno Senna
Trulli GP it Michela Cerutti it Jarno Trulli it
Venturi Grand Prix mc Nick Heidfeld Stéphane Sarrazin
Virgin Racing Jaime Alguersuari Sam Bird

Image via BusinessF1

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.